Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: December 31, 2015

Murder Squad

This quartet of Swedish deathsters, all serving time in other well-known groups, banded together to pay tribute to a band that no doubt influenced each of them individually, that band being the death/doom/grind/gore band Autopsy. Originally Murder Squad was nothing more than purely a Autopsy cover band, but several years ago they shifted to writing original songs, and so their goal was to release an album that sounds like Autopsy. And that's exactly what is delivered on 2002's Unsane, Insane And Mentally Deranged -- early 90's-inspired grindy death metal. There are a few soundalikes to their current bands (most notably Entombed, due to Uffe Cederlund's unmistakable guitar sound), but again Autopsy is the obvious soundalike here. Those into Autopsy, or old-school Swedish death metal, will be quite satisfied with Unsane. A followup, Ravenous, Murderous, featuring guest vocals from none other than Autopsy mainman Chris Reifert, was released in 2003, and following a two-song EP in 2013, the band has been put on hold.

Last Lineup

Matti Karki

vocals (ex-Carnage, ex-Dismember)

Uffe Cederlund

guitars (Entombed)

Richard Cabeza

bass (ex-Dismember, Unanimated)

Peter Stjärnvind

drums (ex-Entombed, ex-Face Down, Krux, ex-Merciless, ex-Nifelheim, ex-Unanimated)


Unsane, Insane And Mentally Deranged  
2002 Pavement
  1. Slowly Burnt To Death
  2. Twisted High
  3. Depravation
  4. The Return Of The Rotten
  5. Unsane, Insane And Mentally Deranged
  6. The Probing
  7. Sprayng Lead
  8. Bloodfreak
  9. Sent Home In A Box
  10. Sacrificial Strangulation, Beating And Rape
  11. Impaled
  12. Horror Eternal
  • Matti Karki
  • Uffe Cederlund
  • Richard Cabeza
  • Peter Stjärnvind

Ravenous, Murderous  
2003 Threeman
  1. Ravenous, Murderous
  2. I Am Eternal
  3. Epidermal Massacre
  4. Disturbing The Freaks
  5. Spunkslut
  6. Hellish Blasphemy
  7. Shitstorm
  8. Born In Sewage, Bred In Bile
  9. Army Of Maggots
  10. Masterpiece In Morbidity
  11. Homocide
  12. Rising From The Ashes
  • Matti Karki
  • Uffe Cederlund
  • Richard Cabeza
  • Peter Stjärnvind

Human Genocide / Blackness Within  EP
  • Matti Karki
  • Uffe Cederlund
  • Richard Cabeza
  • Peter Stjärnvind

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions