Origin: New York City, New York, USA  
Genres: Black Metal
Page online: June 18, 2021
Last update/review: November 4, 2023


The tale of Myrkur's rapid rise in the metal underground is a curious and fascinating one. From out of nowhere came this mysterious, one-woman black metal artist, already signed to a major metal label in Relapse Records, and as the positive reviews came in, so did a seemingly endless rush of negative fan criticism and scorn. It seems that the outrage centered on two aspects -- one, Relapse massively overhyped (and probably misrepresented) her, and two, she was eventually revealed to be a Danish pop star in one Amalie Bruun, thus supposedly destroying the project's true kvlt metal credibility. Neither of these are Bruun's fault, and it's discouraging that the backlash clouded objective opinions/reviews of the music at hand. And about the music: first, one must realize that those expecting a full-on black metal assault aren't going to find it here. Albums such as 2017's Mareridt do feature black metal traces, mixed with plenty of ambient folk influences and Bruun's graceful soprano vocals (though she can and does perform some convincing black metal shrieks as well). As such, it's capably done, and at times quite captivating, though again not from a pure metal standpoint. Moving forward, it appears that the novelty, in some sense, seems to have waned, possibly due to the latest album (2020's Folkesange) completely dropping the metal aspects and focusing on ambient folk music.

Current Members

Amalie Bruun



Myrkur  EP
2014 Relapse
  1. Ravnens Banner
  2. Frosne Vind
  3. Må Du Brænde I Helvede
  4. Latvian Fegurð
  5. Dybt I Skoven
  6. Nattens Barn
  7. Ulvesangen
  • Amalie Bruun

2015 Relapse
  1. Skøgen Skulle Dø
  2. Hævnen
  3. Onde Børn
  4. Vølvens Spådom
  5. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenerne
  6. Nordlys
  7. Mordet
  8. Byssan Lull
  9. Dybt I Skoven
  10. Skaði
  11. Norn
  • Amalie Bruun

Mausoleum  LIVE
2016 Relapse
  1. Vølvens Spådom
  2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenerne
  3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
  4. Byssan Lull
  5. Den Lille Piges Død
  6. Frosne Vind
  7. Onde Børn
  8. Song to Hall Up High (Bathory cover)
  9. Dybt I Skoven
  • Amalie Bruun

2017 Relapse
  1. Mareridt
  2. Måneblôt
  3. The Serpent
  4. Crown
  5. Elleskudt
  6. De Tre Piker
  7. Funeral
  8. Ulvinde
  9. Gladiatrix
  10. Kætteren
  11. Børnehjem
  • Amalie Bruun

Juniper  EP
2018 Relapse
  1. Juniper
  2. Bonden Og Kragen
  • Amalie Bruun

2020 Relapse
  1. Ella
  2. Fager som en Ros
  3. Leaves of Yggdrasil
  4. Ramund
  5. Tor i Helheim
  6. Svea
  7. Harpens Kraft
  8. Gammelkäring
  9. House Carpenter
  10. Reiar
  11. Gudernes Vilje
  12. Vinter
  • Amalie Bruun

Ragnarok (Original Soundtrack)  
2023 Relapse
  1. Ragnarok tema
  2. Krigersang
  3. Odins sang
  4. Jætternes sang
  5. Livs tema
  6. Hells sang
  7. Modgunns tema
  8. Kampsang
  9. Balders tema
  • Amalie Bruun

2023 Relapse
  1. Bålfærd
  2. Like Humans
  3. Mothlike
  4. My Blood Is Gold
  5. Spine
  6. Valkyriernes sang
  7. Blazing Sky
  8. Devil in the Detail
  9. Menneskebarn

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions