Origin: Santa Barbara, California, USA  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal, Folk Metal
Page online: May 6, 2021
Last update/review: May 1, 2022


Hailing from the unlikely locale of Santa Barbara (if there's one band that sounds European and not Californian, it's these guys), Nekrogoblikon have carved a very nice niche for themselves, peddling a unique brand of Finntroll-ish, unhinged yet very tight folk/melodic death metal with humorous/irreverent lyrics and that goblin gimmick that threatens to (but doesn't) undermine their music. Comparing their latest two albums (2015's Heavy Meta and 2018's Welcome To Bonkers, the titles of which say a lot about what's going on), the style is similar on both though the humor aspect seems to be upped a bit on Bonkers. Bands with a humor/gimmick aspect always tread the line between just bringing some levity to the usually humorless metal scene and devolving into outright silliness, and Nekrogoblikon are indeed on that edge, but there's still plenty of well-played, catchy yet serious music to be had here.

Current Members

Dicky Allen


John Goblikon (Dave Rispoli)


Joe Nelson


Goldberg (Alex Alereza)

guitars/backing vocals

Sack (Aaron VanZutphen)


Aaron Minich


Eric W. Brown


Former Members/Guests

Nicholas Calonne


Tim Lyakhovetskiy

guitars/backing vocals

Austin Nickel


Brandon Frenzel


Anthony DeLorenzi


Eddie Trager



Goblin Island  
2007 independent
  1. They Came from Space
  2. Army of Goblins
  3. Goblin Island
  4. Goblins Ahoy!
  5. Goblins Are Better than Trolls
  6. In the Hall of the Goblin King
  7. The Goblin King's Wrath
  8. Goblin Christmas Armageddon Part I
  9. Goblin Christmas Armageddon Part II
  10. The Goblins of the Black Rain
  11. The Goblin Rangers Theme
  12. Resonance
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Tim Lyakhovetskiy

2011 independent
  1. No One Survives
  2. Bears
  3. Goblin Box
  4. The Bog
  5. A Feast
  6. Return to the Sky (From Whence You Came)
  7. Invasion
  8. Gallows & Graves
  9. Nekropolis
  10. The Plague
  11. Prince of the Land of Stench
  12. This Is Our God
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Tim Lyakhovetskiy
  • Goldberg
  • Austin Nickel
  • Anthony DeLorenzi
  • Eddie Trager

Power  EP
2013 independent
  1. Friends (in Space)
  2. Nothing but Crickets
  3. Powercore
  4. Bells & Whistles
  5. Giraffe
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Tim Lyakhovetskiy
  • Goldberg
  • Brandon Frenzel
  • Aaron Minich
  • Eddie Trager

Heavy Meta  
  1. The End of Infinity
  2. We've Had Enough
  3. Bring Us More
  4. Snax & Violence
  5. Atlantis
  6. We Need a Gimmick
  7. Full Body Xplosion
  8. Let's Get Fucked
  9. Mood Swing
  10. Nekrogoblikon
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Joe Nelson
  • Goldberg
  • Brandon Frenzel
  • Aaron Minich
  • Eddie Trager

Welcome To Bonkers  
  1. Mold
  2. The Many Faces of Dr. Hubert Malbec
  3. Row
  4. Dressed as Goblins
  5. Dragons
  6. Thanks for Nothing, Moon
  7. The Skin Thief
  8. Darkness
  9. The Magic Spider
  10. Killing Time (and Space)
  11. Goblins
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Goldberg
  • Sack
  • Aaron Minich
  • Eric W. Brown

The Fundamental Slimes And Humours  
2022 independent
  1. Right Now
  2. Golden Future
  3. Yin
  4. Supernovas (Exploding in Space)
  5. Bones
  6. Going to Die
  7. A Lesson in Hate
  8. This Is It
  9. Fancy Wind
  10. Carousels
  11. No Such Thing as a Key
  • Nicholas Calonne
  • Joe Nelson
  • Goldberg
  • Sack
  • Aaron Minich
  • Eric W. Brown

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions