Origin: Seattle, Washington, USA  
Genres: Hard Rock
Facebook Twitter
Page online: December 11, 2006
Last update/review: July 17, 2016


Best known as the band featuring guitarist Floyd Rose (inventor of the Floyd Rose Tremolo System for guitarists), Q5 debuted in 1984 with Steel The Light, a pretty decent slice of British-influenced hard rock/metal. They were pressured to go a bit more mainstream for their next album, which they did, resulting in When The Mirror Cracks, released in 1986 to mixed reviews. The band were in the midst of working on their third album when they dissolved, somewhere around 1987. Two of the members (later joined by a third) created a new band, Nightshade, releasing one album in 1991 and another in 2001, and were still playing live as late as 2003. A modified lineup officially reformed in 2015.

Current Members

Jonathan Scott Palmerton


Nick Layton


Dennis Turner


Evan Sheeley

bass (ex-TKO)

Jeff McCormack


Former Members/Guests

Floyd Rose


Rick Pierce

guitars (ex-TKO)

Gary Thompson

drums (ex-TKO)


Steel The Light  
1984 Albatross
  1. Missing In Action
  2. Lonely Lady
  3. Steel The Light
  4. Pull The Trigger
  5. Ain't No Way To Treat A Lady
  6. In The Night
  7. Come And Gone
  8. Rock On
  9. Teenage Runaway
  • Jonathan Scott Palmerton
  • Floyd Rose
  • Rick Pierce
  • Evan Sheeley
  • Gary Thompson

When The Mirror Cracks  
1985 Albatross
  1. Livin' On The Borderline
  2. Your Tears (Will Follow Me)
  3. Never Gonna Love Again
  4. Stand By Me
  5. When The Mirror Cracks
  6. Runaway
  7. In The Rain
  8. I Can't Wait
  9. Cold Heart
  10. Let Go
  • Jonathan Scott Palmerton
  • Floyd Rose
  • Rick Pierce
  • Evan Sheeley
  • Gary Thompson

New World Order  
2016 Frontiers
  1. We Came Here to Rock
  2. One Night in Hellas
  3. The Right Way
  4. New World Order
  5. Tear Up the Night
  6. Halfway to Hell
  7. A Prisoner of Mind
  8. Unrequited (A Woman of Darkness and Steel)
  9. Just One Kiss
  10. Fear Is the Killer
  11. Land of the Setting Sun
  12. A Warrior's Song
  13. Mach Opus 206
  14. Get Next to You
  • Jonathan Scott Palmerton
  • Rick Pierce
  • Dennis Turner
  • Evan Sheeley
  • Jeff McCormack

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions