Origin: Dundee, Scotland  
Genres: NWOBHM
Page online: June 8, 2020
Last update/review: June 8, 2020

Satan's Empire

In the early 80's, compilation albums were the way for both startup record labels and unsigned bands to to get exposure, and several of those labels put out these albums just to see who would catch on (Metal Blade's Metal Massacre series being the most famous). Invariably these albums would feature tracks by bands who would never record again, prompting listeners to ask "Whatever happened to X?". Case in point: Lead Weight, the very first compilation from the fledgling Neat label in 1981. It featured bands such as Raven, Venom, and Blitzkrieg, among others, who would go on to record with the label, but it closed with a epic track entitled "Soldiers Of War" by a completely unknown band called Satan's Empire. And with that track completed, the band all but disappeared. Yet 30+ years later, the guys got back together and, miraculously, released a full-length album, Rising, in 2018. Unsurprisingly, Rising is very much entrenched in the NWOBHM style, yet it really doesn't sound stale at all. Fame and fortune will probably never come to these guys, as this is a labor of love more than anything, but it makes for a worthy addition to any NWOBHM collection.

Current Members

Sandy McRitchie


Paul Lewis


Wayne Hudson


Garry Bowler


Former Members/Guests

Derek Lyon



  1. Slaves of Satan
  2. Shout it Out (Hail!)
  3. Satan's Empire
  4. Soldiers of War
  5. Dragonslayer
  6. Come Back
  7. On the Road to Hell
  8. Lucifer
  9. Politician
  10. Suicide Man
  • Derek Lyon
  • Sandy McRitchie
  • Paul Lewis
  • Wayne Hudson
  • Garry Bowler

Hail The Empire  
2020 Dissonance
  1. Warriors
  2. Secrets
  3. Rivers of Gehenna
  4. Empire Rising
  5. Hail the Empire
  6. Storm on the Airwaves
  7. Black
  8. All Hallows Eve
  9. Shadowmaker
  10. New World

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions