Origin: Florida, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Death Metal
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: February 21, 2017


Now regarded as a progressive death metal innovator, Cynic's early history was as a more or less standard Floridian death metal band (an early lineup featured noted bassist Tony Choy, later of Atheist and Pestilence). But by 1993, the band was experimenting with progressive songwriting, fusion influences, guitar synths, and altered vocal effects, all of which can be heard on Focus, now regarded as a landmark release in the field of technical/progressive metal. For various reasons, the band decided to end it there, breaking up soon after the album's release. For years and years rumors of a possible reunion persisted, while the various members participated in all sorts of musical projects both metal and not. Finally, in 2007 the duo of Paul Masvidal and Sean Reinert regrouped, pulling in two old friends from the early days to round out the new band, and Cynic was back in action. Less, er, focused on the fusion/prog metal of the debut, 2008's Traced In Air nonetheless continued to push the envelope of ecletic extreme metal. By 2014 the band was reduced back to the core trio of Masvidal, Reinart and Sean Malone, and they released Kindly Bent To Free Us that year. That looks to be the band's swan song, as 2015 reports suggest the band may done due to musical differences, though one of the members (reportedly, Masvidal) may carry on with new membership.

Last Lineup

Paul Masvidal

vocals/guitars (ex-Death, ex-Gordian Knot, ex-Master)

Former Members/Guests

Tymon Kruidenier

vocals/guitars (ex-Exivious)

Jason Gobel

guitars (ex-Gordian Knot, ex-Monstrosity)

Max Phelps

guitars (guest for Defeated Sanity)

Sean Malone

bass (ex-Aghora, ex-Gordian Knot, ex-O.S.I.)

Robin Zielhorst

bass (ex-Exivious, guest for Ne Oblviscaris)

Sean Reinert

drums (ex-Aghora, ex-Death, ex-Gordian Knot)


1993 Roadrunner
  1. Veil of Maya
  2. Celestial Voyage
  3. The Eagle Nature
  4. Sentiment
  5. I'm But a Wave To...
  6. Uroboric Forms
  7. Textures
  8. How Could I
  • Paul Masvidal
  • Jason Gobel
  • Sean Malone
  • Sean Reinert
1993 Readers' Album #3

Traced In Air  
2008 Season Of Mist
  1. Nunc Fluens
  2. The Space For This
  3. Evolutionary Sleeper
  4. Integral Birth
  5. The Unknown Guest
  6. Adam's Murmur
  7. King of those Who Know
  8. Nunc Stans
  • Paul Masvidal
  • Tymon Kruidenier
  • Sean Malone
  • Sean Reinert
2008 Readers' Album #7

Re-traced  EP
2010 Season Of Mist
  1. The Space For This
  2. King Of Those Who Know
  3. Evolutionary Sleeper
  4. Integral Birth
  5. Wheels Within Wheels
  • Paul Masvidal
  • Tymon Kruidenier
  • Robin Zielhorst
  • Sean Reinert
2010 Readers' Album #78

Carbon-Based Anatomy  EP
2011 Season Of Mist
  1. Amidst The Coals
  2. Carbon-Based Anatomy
  3. Bija!
  4. Box Up My Bones
  5. Elves Beam Out
  6. Hieroglyph
  • Paul Masvidal
  • Max Phelps
  • Sean Malone
  • Sean Reinert
2011 Readers' Album #45

The Portal Tapes  COMPILATION
2012 Season Of Mist
  1. Endless Endeavors
  2. Karma's Plight
  3. Circle
  4. Costumed in Grace
  5. Cosmos
  6. Crawl Above
  7. Mirror Child
  8. Road to You
  9. Belong
  10. Not the Same

Kindly Bent To Free Us  
2014 Season Of Mist
  1. True Hallucination Speak
  2. The Lion's Roar
  3. Kindly Bent To Free Us
  4. Infinite Shapes
  5. Moon Heart Sun Head
  6. Gitanjali
  7. Holy Fallout
  8. Endlessly Bountiful
  9. Earth Is My Witness (deluxe CD book exclusive bonus track)
  • Paul Masvidal
  • Sean Malone
  • Sean Reinert

Uroboic Forms - The Complete Demo Recordings  COMPILATION
2017 Century Media

Copyright © 1995-2019 BNR Productions