Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: May 6, 2012


Defiance belonged to the San Francisco thrash fraternity of the late eighties, along with bands like Testament, Exodus, Forbidden, and others, releasing three solid thrash albums before disbanding in 1993. Vocalist Steev Esquivel went on to Skinlab, while several of the other members formed a band called Inner Threshold, which never progressed beyond the demo stage. After more than a decade apart, Esquivel and most of the other core members decided to reform the band. Guitarist Doug Harrington's passing in 2006 put a damper on the procedings, but the rest of the band continued in his honor, and a comeback album, The Prophecy, was released in 2009. A modified lineup, now minus Esquivel, soldiered on, but by January 2012 founding member Jim Adams decided that the industry wasn't supportive and the passion to continue the band had passed, and so the band was again put to rest.

Last Lineup

Keven Albert


Jim Adams


Shawn Bozarth


Mike Kaufmann


Burton Ortega


Former Members/Guests

Ken Elkinton


Steve Esquivel

vocals (ex-Re:Ignition, Skinlab)

Doug Harrington

guitars RIP: November 14, 2006, cancer, age 40

Matt Vander Ende

drums (ex-Gack)

Mark Hernandez

drums (ex-Demonica, ex-Forbidden, ex-Re:Ignition, ex-Technocracy, ex-Torque, ex-Vio-lence)


Product Of Society  
1989 Roadrunner
  1. The Fault
  2. Death Machine
  3. Forgotten
  4. Lock Jaw
  5. Insomnia
  6. Deadly Intentions
  7. Aftermath
  8. Tribulation
  9. Hypothermia
  • Ken Elkinton
  • Doug Harrington
  • Jim Adams
  • Mike Kaufmann
  • Matt Vander Ende

Void Terra Firma  
1990 Roadrunner
  1. Void Terra Firma
  2. Deception Of Faith
  3. Questions
  4. Skitz-Illusions
  5. Slayground
  6. Killers
  7. Steamroller
  8. Checkmate
  9. Buried Or Burned
  10. Last Resort (Welcome To Poverty)
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Doug Harrington
  • Jim Adams
  • Mike Kaufmann
  • Matt Vander Ende

Beyond Recognition  
1992 Roadrunner
  1. The Killing Floor
  2. Step Back
  3. Perfect Nothing
  4. No Compromise
  5. Dead Silence
  6. Inside Looking Out
  7. The Chosen
  8. Power Trip
  9. Promised Afterlife
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Doug Harrington
  • Jim Adams
  • Mike Kaufmann
  • Matt Vander Ende

Insomnia  BOXED SET
2007 Metal Mind
  1. CD1: Product Of Society
  2. CD2: Void Terra Firma
  3. CD3: Beyond Recognition

The Prophecy  
2009 Candlelight
  1. Prion
  2. The Prophecy
  3. Bastard Son
  4. The War Inside
  5. Fuel The Fire
  6. Eschaton
  7. Sloth
  8. Desert Sands
  9. Dissolving Around You
  10. Asthmaphere
  11. Eyes Of The Front
  • Steve Esquivel
  • Jim Adams
  • Mike Kaufmann
  • Mark Hernandez

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions