Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal, Hard Rock
Page online: May 6, 2015
Last update/review: May 6, 2015

Motor Sister

The background for this project is an interesting story. Scott Ian (Anthrax, of course) had been a longtime fan of Mother Superior (a fine rock band in their day, and also the backing band for Henry Rollins for a time), and as part of a birthday celebration in early 2015, Ian invited MS guitarist Jim Wilson over to play some old tunes. A pair of well-known metal cronies (Joey Vera of Armored Saint and well-travelled drummer John Tempesta) and Ian's wife Pearl Aday completed the lineup, and the resulting jam session went over so well that Metal Blade jumped in and pushed for a complete album. And so Motor Sister (taking their name from a Superior song) was born, and Ride, a collection of Mother Superior covers, was soon released. While this is miles from Anthrax/Saint territory, certainly fans of Mother Superior would like these revitalized versions of the old classics, but also anyone into bluesy, slightly Southern hard rock/metal will like this, as the songs sound fresh and the band is tight and enthusiastic. A fitting tribute to an underrated band from the past.

Current Members

Pearl Aday


Jim Wilson

guitars/vocals (Rollins Band)

Scott Ian

guitars (Anthrax, Mr. Bungle, ex-Stormtroopers Of Death)

Joey Vera

bass (ex-Arch/Matheos, Armored Saint, ex-Engine, Fates Warning, guest for O.S.I., ex-Seven Witches, guest for Seven Witches)

John Tempesta

drums (ex-Black Label Society, ex-Exodus, ex-Testament, ex-White Zombie, ex-Rob Zombie)


2015 Metal Blade
  1. A Hole
  2. This Song Reminds Me of You
  3. Beg Borrow Steal
  4. Fool Around
  5. Get That Girl
  6. Head Hanging Low
  7. Fork in the Road
  8. Little Motor Sister
  9. Pretty in the Morning
  10. Whore
  11. Doghouse
  12. Devil Wind
  • Pearl Aday
  • Jim Wilson
  • Scott Ian
  • Joey Vera
  • John Tempesta

Get Off  
2020 Metal Blade
  1. Can't Get High Enough
  2. Coming For You
  3. Right There, Just Like That
  4. Sooner Or Later
  5. Excuse Me, Your Life Is Exposed
  6. Lion's Den
  7. 1,000,000 Miles
  8. Pain
  9. Bulletproof
  10. Bruise It Or Lose It
  11. Time's Up
  12. Rolling Boy Blues
  • Pearl Aday
  • Jim Wilson
  • Scott Ian
  • Joey Vera
  • John Tempesta

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions