Origin: Belgium  
Genres: Doomdeath
Official Site Facebook YouTube
Last update/review: April 7, 2011


Pantheist was formed initially as a one-man project by vocalist Kostas in 2000, with guitarist Niclas joining soon afterward. The duo recorded a demo, and later were joined by the rhythm section of Frederic and Oscar, completing the band. Their 2003 debut, O Solitude, is every bit the doom album the title might imply, with the shortest of the five songs being almost eight minutes long and two well over the ten minute mark. The vocals are usually of the death variety, but the pace and depth of the music makes this band more a funereal doom band than a doomdeath band. It's pretty ponderous stuff, but the songs are rich with atmosphere and shade, and the lyrics add to the somber moods. Not the most uplifting of albums, but O Solitude is a solid ultra-slow doom release.

Founder Kostas Panagiotou relocated to England in 2004 and recruited a new lineup, which produced two albums in 2005.

Current Members

Kostas Panagiotou


Pepijn van Houwelingen


Mark Boddossian

bass (Esoteric)

Sterghios Moschos


Former Members/Guests

Andy Semmens


Nicolas Tambuyzer


Ilia Rodriguez


Peter Benjamin

guitars (ex-Akercocke)

Frederic Caure


Oscar Strik



O Solitude  
2003 Firebox
  1. O Solitude
  2. Don't Mourn
  3. Time
  4. Envy Us
  5. Curse The Morning Light
  • Kostas Panagiotou
  • Nicolas Tambuyzer
  • Frederic Caure
  • Oscar Strik

2005 Firebox
  1. Apologeia
  2. Gluttony
  3. Envy
  4. Lust
  5. First Prayer
  6. Pride
  7. Greed
  8. Sloth
  9. Wrath
  10. Metanoia
  • Andy Semmens
  • Kostas Panagiotou
  • Nicolas Tambuyzer
  • Mark Boddossian

The Pains Of Sleep  
2005 Serpent's Lair
  1. The Pains of Sleep
  2. Pavor Nocturnus
  3. For Funerals to Come
  4. Intro (1000 Years)
  5. Time
  6. Lust
  7. Envy Us
  8. Liefde Voor Niemand
  9. 1000 Years
  • Andy Semmens
  • Kostas Panagiotou
  • Ilia Rodriguez
  • Peter Benjamin
  • Mark Boddossian
  • Sterghios Moschos

Journey Through Lands Unknown  
2008 Firebox
  1. Deliverance
  2. Unknown Land
  3. Dum Spiro Despero
  4. Haven
  5. Oblivion
  6. The Loss of Innocence
  7. Eternal Sorrow
  8. Mourning the Passing of Certainty
  • Kostas Panagiotou
  • Ilia Rodriguez
  • Mark Boddossian
  • Sterghios Moschos

2011 Grau
  • Kostas Panagiotou
  • Pepijn van Houwelingen
  • Sterghios Moschos

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions