Origin: Finland  
Genres: Goth Rock/Metal
Official Site Facebook YouTube
Last update/review: April 29, 2011


Add Poisonblack to the evergrowing list of prime Finnish goth bands to emerge in the last few years. The band was formed by Sentenced singer Ville Laihiala in 2000, as he wished to pursue interests outside his main band (and, as well, play guitar). goth band (Charon), and released Escapextacy which ranks with the best of Finnish goth albums, reminiscient of bands such as Entwine or For My Pain ..., a midpaced effort full of graceful, yet sad melodies, and typically deep goth vocals. time to Charon, but Laihiala has since put together a proper full-time band, with their second release, Lust Stained Despair, coming out in the summer of 2006.

Current Members

Ville Laihiala

guitars/vocals (ex-Sentenced)

Antti Remes


Marco Sneck

keyboards (For My Pain ..., ex-Kalmah, The Man-Eating Tree)

Tarmo Kanerva


Former Members/Guests

Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto

vocals (Charon)

Janne Markus

guitars (The Abbey, The Man-Eating Tree)

Janne Kukkonen



2003 Century Media
  1. The Glow Of The Flames
  2. Love Infernal
  3. The State
  4. All Else Is Hollow
  5. In Lust
  6. The Exciter
  7. Lay Your Heart To Rest
  8. With Her I Die
  9. Illusion/Delusion
  10. The Kiss Of Death
  • Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto
  • Ville Laihiala
  • Janne Kukkonen

Lust Stained Despair  
2006 Century Media
  1. Nothing Else Remains
  2. Hollow Be My Name
  3. The Darkest Lie
  4. Rush
  5. Nail
  6. Raivotar
  7. Soul In Flames
  8. Pain Becomes Me
  9. Never Enough
  10. Love Controlled Despair
  11. The Living Dead
  12. Bleeding Into You (digipack bonus)
  • Ville Laihiala
  • Janne Markus
  • Antti Remes
  • Marco Sneck
  • Tarmo Kanerva
2006 Readers' Album #56

A Dead Heavy Day  
2008 Century Media
  1. Intro
  2. Diane
  3. Left Behind
  4. Bear The Cross
  5. A Dead Heavy Day
  6. Me Myself And I
  7. X
  8. Human-Compost
  9. The Days Between
  10. Hatelove
  11. Low Life
  12. Only You Can Tear Me Apart
  • Ville Laihiala
  • Janne Markus
  • Antti Remes
  • Marco Sneck
  • Tarmo Kanerva

2009 EMI
  1. Nothing Else Remains
  2. Left Behind
  3. Rush
  4. Illusion/Delusion
  5. The Darkest Lie
  6. Bear the Cross
  7. Never Enough
  8. Lowlife
  9. The State
  10. Diane
  11. A Dead Heavy Day (Semi-acoustic live)
  12. The Glow of the Flames (Semi-acoustic live)
  13. Love Infernal
  14. Lay Your Heart to Rest

Of Rust And Bones  
2010 Century Media
  1. My Sun Shines Black
  2. Leech
  3. My World
  4. Buried Alive
  5. Invisible
  6. Casket Case
  7. Down The Drain
  8. Alone
  9. The Last Song
  10. Half Past Dead (bonus track)
  • Ville Laihiala
  • Antti Remes
  • Marco Sneck
  • Tarmo Kanerva

2011 Hype
  • Ville Laihiala
  • Antti Remes
  • Marco Sneck
  • Tarmo Kanerva

2013 Warner
  1. Home Is Where The Sty Is
  2. Down The Ashes Rain
  3. The Flavor Of The Month
  4. The Absentee
  5. Maybe Life Is Not For Everyone
  6. Death By The Blues
  7. The Halfway Bar
  8. Them Walls
  9. Blackholehead
  10. Pull The Trigger
  11. Elämän Kevät

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions