Origin: Austin, Texas, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: July 26, 2020


The penultimate progressive technical thrash band, Watchtower ushered in a new era of extreme metal with the masterpiece that is their debut album, Energetic Disassembly. Featuring an array of chaotic time changes, aggressive vocals, and possibly the most accomplished rhythm section in metal, this was one of the highlights of metal in the eighties. Half the band had changed three years later when the followup, Control And Resistance, was released, but the quality did not diminish, though the overall atmosphere was a bit more restrained compared to the wildness of the debut. There aren't enough adjectives to truly describe how powerful and influential this band was -- they are truly pioneers in the realm of progressive/technical metal.

Since the release of Control the band has been mostly quiet as the members pursued other projects, despite endless speculation of a possible reunion. For years the band have at various times worked on a third album entitled Mathematics, and a brief 2000 reunion spurred hope that something might be released, but nothing transpired. A new song was recorded in 2010 with Alan Tecchio back at the mic, and that song eventually appeared on the 2016 EP Concepts Of Match: Book One, which was intended to be the base for that elusive Mathematics album. Yet as time goes on it seems increasingly unlikely that the band will continue in any capacity, and drummer Rick Colaluca said as much in a 2020 statement.

Current Members

Jason McMaster

vocals (ex-Dangerous Toys, Howling Sycamore, Ignitor, Spastic Ink)

Ron Jarzombek

guitars (Blotted Science, ex-Gordian Knot, ex-Slayer (SA), Spastic Ink)

Doug Keyser


Rick Colaluca


Former Members/Guests

Alan Tecchio

vocals (ex-Hades, ex-Non-Fiction, ex-Power, ex-Seven Witches)

Billy White



Energetic Disassembly  
1986 Zomba
  1. Asylum
  2. Meltdown
  3. Tyrants In Distress
  4. Argonne Forest
  5. Energetic Disassembly
  6. Violent Change
  7. Social Fears
  8. Cimmerian Shadows
  • Jason McMaster
  • Billy White
  • Doug Keyser
  • Rick Colaluca

Control And Resistance  
1989 Noise
  1. Instruments Of Random Murder
  2. The Eldritch
  3. Mayday In Kiev
  4. The Fall Of Reason
  5. Control And Resistance
  6. Hidden Instincts
  7. Life Cycles
  8. Dangerous Toy
  • Alan Tecchio
  • Ron Jarzombek
  • Doug Keyser
  • Rick Colaluca

Demonstrations In Chaos  COMPILATION
2002 Monster
  1. Meltdown
  2. Asylum
  3. Argonne Forest
  4. Social Fears
  5. Tyrants In Distress
  6. Energetic Disassembly
  7. Cimmerian Shadows
  8. The Eldritch
  9. Instruments Of Random Murder
  10. Hidden Instincts
  11. The Fall Of Reason
  12. Control And Resistance
  13. Cathode Ray Window
  14. Ballad Assassin
  15. Meltdown

Concepts Of Math: Book One  EP
2016 Prosthetic
  1. M-Theory Overture
  2. Arguments Against Design
  3. Technology Inaction
  4. The Size Of Matter
  5. Mathematica Calculis
  • Alan Tecchio
  • Ron Jarzombek
  • Doug Keyser
  • Rick Colaluca
2016 Readers' Album #17

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions