Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Black Metal
Last update/review: December 15, 2010


Abruptum was formed by the pair of It and All, who also collaborated together on two other odd black metal bands in Vondur and Ophthalamia. Apparently All left and Evil (Morgan Håkansson, the main man behind Marduk) joined up, and some time after that It left and Evil continued the project alone. Reviewed here is Evil Genius, released in 1995 though it is a compilation of early demo/EP tracks. This is really black metal noise, consisting of raw guitars, gutteral vocals, some drums, and not a lot in the sense of structured songs. Though clearly in tune with the early black metal scene, Abruptum's style is less about music and more about dark, evil ambience, and on that level it succeeds, given the right mood/frame of mind.

Last Lineup

Evil (Morgan Håkansson)

other (Devil's Whorehouse, Marduk)

Former Members/Guests

All (Jim Berger)

other (ex-Ophthalamia, ex-Vondur)

It (Tony Särkkä)

other (ex-8thSin, ex-Ophthalamia, ex-Vondur) RIP: February 14, 2017, age 45


Obscuritatem Advoco Amplectere Me  
1993 Deathlike Silence
  1. Part I
  2. Part II

In Umbra Malitiae Ambulabo  
1994 Deathlike Silence
  1. In Umbra Malitiae Ambulabo, In Aeternum In Triumpho Tenebrarum

Evil Genius  
  1. Honores Vultus Mutares Ex Aeris Campi
  2. Aerge Facere Alci
  3. Icendio Fulminis Tecis
  4. Calibus Frontem Tumeo Acidus Abcessus
  5. Corpus In As Trahere Abincere
  6. Vis Semina Dies Hora Dea-Membra Corpora
  7. Feci Factum Sanguine Gladios Made Fieri Factus
  8. Tortus Torquero Colla Tumentes
  9. Turannum Bellux Eventus Alci Exeo Sivium Vitae Carthaginis Integra
  10. Hostes Orco Hostium Legiones Dis Manibus Pacis Ruptores Ultioni
  11. Unimum, Mentem Alcis Juventutem Largitionibus, Hostes Addimicandum, Commotis Exita Sacris Thyias

Vi Sonus Veris Nigrae Malitiaes  
  1. Vi Sonus Veris Nigrae Malitiaes

De Profundis Mors Vas Consumet  EP
  1. De Profundis Mors Vas Consumet
  2. Dödsapparaten
  3. Massdöd

Casus Luciferi  
  1. Casus Luciferi
  2. In Ictu Oculi
  3. Ex Inferno Inferiori
  4. Gehennae Perpetuae Cruciatus

Potestates Apocalypsis  
2011 Regain

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions