Origin: Miami, Florida, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: August 23, 2011
Last update/review: October 18, 2015

Black Tide

A band of youngsters seemingly out of nowhere are signed to a major (and not particularly metal-focused) label and are touted as rising stars -- this is a recipe for extreme suspicion for hardened metal fans. Worse, several point to these guys as the future of thrash metal, which is laughable -- regardless of how good the band is or isn't, thrash metal this is not. Anyway, this band dates back to 2004, when its founding members were as as young as 10-13 years old, and by the time of their debut album in 2007, all four guys were still less than 20 years old and the vocalist was only 15. As to the album ... opener "Shockwave" sounds like it was lifted straight off Motley Crue's Too Fast For Love, and while Crue isn't a primary influence or soundalike, it sets the tone for the rest of the album -- this is heavily 80's-inspired hard rock/metal, with lots of harmonized riffing and melodic, not terribly powerful vocals (though to be fair, his performance isn't bad for a 15-year-old). While their influences are clearly 80's-based, this isn't a retro band, in fact they have a clear modern metal flair, in a way similar to bands like Trivium or Avenged Sevenfold, though these aren't direct soundalikes. The only real thrash moment is on their cover of Metallica's "Hit The Lights", and even here the song sounds far less thrashy than the original, though one could say they did their own take of the song rather than to perfectly replicate the original. It's hard to say where a band like Black Tide will go -- with Interscope's backing they could become a Next Big Thing, or they could just as easily get tossed aside like many a major label reject.

Current Members

Gabriel Garcia


Austin Diaz


Cody Paige


Former Members/Guests

Alex Nunez


Zachary Sandler


Steven Spence


Timn D'Onofrio



Light From Above  
2008 Interscope
  1. Shockwave
  2. Shout
  3. Warriors of Time
  4. Give Me a Chance
  5. Let Me
  6. Show Me the Way
  7. Enterprise
  8. Live Fast Die Young
  9. Hit the Lights (Metallica cover)
  10. Black Abyss
  11. Light from Above [view lyrics
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Alex Nunez
  • Zachary Sandler
  • Steven Spence

Post Mortem  
2011 Interscope
  1. Ashes
  2. Bury Me
  3. Let It Out
  4. Honest Eyes
  5. That Fire
  6. Fight 'Til The Bitter End
  7. Take It Easy
  8. Lost In the Sound
  9. Walking Dead Man
  10. Into the Sky
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Austin Diaz
  • Zachary Sandler
  • Steven Spence

Al Cielo  EP
2011 Interscope
  1. That Fire
  2. Dejalo Salir
  3. Al Cielo
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Austin Diaz
  • Zachary Sandler
  • Steven Spence

Just Another Drug  EP
2012 Interscope
  1. Start Over
  2. I Wanna
  3. Just Another Drug
  4. Through Thick and Thin
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Austin Diaz
  • Timn D'Onofrio

Bite The Bullet  EP
  1. Set Me Free (Alive)
  2. Not Afraid (Ft. Raul N. Garcia)
  3. Haunted
  4. In the Mirror
  5. Can't Get Enough
  6. Suffering
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Austin Diaz
  • Timn D'Onofrio

Chasing Shadows  
2015 Pavement
  1. Intro
  2. Guidelines
  3. Angel In The Dark
  4. Predator (Animal)
  5. Burn
  6. Chasing Shadows
  7. Before We Form
  8. Sex Is Angry
  9. Welcome To Misery
  10. Heaven
  11. Promised Land
  • Gabriel Garcia
  • Austin Diaz
  • Cody Paige

Copyright © 1995-2021 BNR Productions