Origin: Sandnes, Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: April 21, 2018

Carpathian Forest

Carpathian Forest have been card-carrying members of the Norwegian old-school black metal elite for several years, forming back in 1990 though they didn't start releasing albums until later in the nineties. They don't often stray too far from the beaten path that is old-school black metal (though they do throw in the odd experiment such as "Cold Murderous Music", weird but very cool), but they execute the style as well as anyone and they have an excellent track record with their releases -- they truly embody classic Norwegian black metal.

Current Members



Tchort (Terje Vik Schei)

guitars (ex-Blood Red Throne, ex-Emperor, Green Carnation)

Bloodpervertor (Gøran Bomann)

guitars (Chain Collector)



Anders Kobro

drums (Chain Collector, ex-Green Carnation, In The Woods ..., ex-Scariot)

Former Members/Guests


guitars/keyboards/backing vocals

John M. Harr (guest)


Svein H. Kleppe (guest)


Lars Nedland (guest)

drums (Age Of Silence, Borknagar, Solefald)


Through Chasm, Caves And Titan Woods  EP
1995 Avantgarde
  1. Carpathian forest
  2. The pale mist hovers towards the nightly shores
  3. The eclipse / the raven
  4. When thousand moon have circled
  5. Journey through the cold moors of svarttjern
  • Nattefrost
  • Nordavind
  • John M. Harr
  • Svein H. Kleppe

Black Shining Leather  
1998 Avantgarde
  1. Black Shining Leather
  2. The Swordsmen
  3. Death Triumphant
  4. Sadomasochistic
  5. Lupus
  6. Pierced Genitalia
  7. In Silence I Observe
  8. Lunar Nights
  9. Third Attempt
  10. The Northern Hemisphere
  11. A Forest
  • Nattefrost
  • Nordavind
  • Lars Nedland

Strange Old Brew  
2000 Avantgarde
  1. Damnation Chant (Intro)
  2. Bloodcleansing
  3. Mask of the Slave
  4. Martyr / Sacrificulum
  5. Thanatology
  6. The Suicide Song
  7. House of the Whipchord
  8. Cloak of Midnight
  9. Return of the Freezing Winds
  10. Theme from Nekromantikk
  11. The Good Old Enema Treatment
  12. He's Turning Blue (Bonus Track)
  • Nattefrost
  • Nordavind
  • Tchort
  • Anders Kobro

Morbid Fascination Of Death  
2001 Avantgarde
  1. Fever, Flames and Hell
  2. Doomed to Walk the Earth As Slaves of the Living Dead
  3. Morbid Fascination of Death
  4. Through Self-Mutilation
  5. Knokkelmann
  6. Warlord of Misanthropy
  7. A World of Bones
  8. Carpathian Forest
  9. Cold Comfort
  10. Speechless
  11. Ghoul
  12. Nostalgia
  • Nattefrost
  • Nordavind
  • Tchort
  • Vrangsinn
  • Anders Kobro

We're Going To Hell For This  COMPILATION
2002 Avantgarde
  1. The Angel And The Sodomizer
  2. I Am Possessed
  3. Bloody Fucking Nekro Hell
  4. Bloodlust & Perversion (New version)
  5. The Possibilities Of Life's Destruction
  6. In The Shadow Of The Horns
  7. In League With Satan
  8. The Good Old Enema Treatment (Part II)
  9. Morbid Facination Of Death (Live)
  10. Sadomasochistic (Live)
  11. Mask Of The Slave (Live)
  12. Knokkelmann (Live)
  13. Bloodcleansing (Live)
  14. Return Of The Freezing Winds (Live)
  15. Doomed To Walk The Earth As Slaves Of The Living Dead (Live)
  16. He's Turning Blue (Live)
  17. Carpathian Forest (Live)
  18. Death Triumphant (1996 Demo version)

Defending The Throne Of Evil  
2003 Season Of Mist
  1. It's Darker Than You Think
  2. Skjend Hans Lik
  3. The Well Of All Human Tears
  4. Put To Sleep Like A Sick Animal!!!
  5. Hymne To Doden
  6. Ancient Spirit Of The Underworld
  7. Spill The Blood Of The Lamb
  8. One With The Earth
  9. Christian Incoherent Drivel
  10. The Old House On The Hill
  11. Nekrophiliac - Anthrophagus Maniac
  12. Cold Murderous Music
  • Nattefrost
  • Tchort
  • Vrangsinn
  • Anders Kobro

Skjend Hans Lik  COMPILATION
2004 Season Of Mist
  1. Skjend Hand Lik (alternate mix)
  2. Humiliation Chant (unreleased)
  3. Spill the Blood of the Lamb (pre-prod)
  4. Martyr / Sacrificulum (live)
  5. Through the Black Veil of the Bergo Pass
  6. Bloodlust and Perversion
  7. Return of the Freezing Winds
  8. The Woods of Wallachia
  9. Wings over the mountain of Sighisoara

Fuck You All!!!!  
2006 Season Of Mist
  1. Vi Apner Porten Til Helvete
  2. The Frostbitten Woodlands of Norway
  3. Start Up the Incinerator (Here Comes Another Useless Fool)
  4. Submit to Satan!!!
  5. Diabolism (The Seed and the Sower)
  6. Dypfryst / Dette Er Mit Helvete
  7. Everyday I Must Suffer
  8. The First Cut is the Deepest
  9. Evil Egocentrical Existencialism
  10. Shut Up, There is No Excuse to Live
  • Nattefrost
  • Tchort
  • Bloodpervertor
  • Vrangsinn
  • Anders Kobro

Likeim  EP
2018 Indie
  1. Likeim
  2. All My Friends are Dead (Turbonegro cover)

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions