Origin: Connecticut, USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: March 14, 2010


Capharnaum was formed in Connecticut by brothers Jason and Jordan Suecof, apparently at the ages of 13 and 9 (!). By 1995 a lineup stabilized and two years later a self-produced, self-released album, Realities Only Fantasized, was put out, after which the brothers relocated to Florida and recruited a new lineup featuring guys from several respected underground metal acts. Fractured, the band's 2004 album, embodies the tag "technical death metal", as the songs twist and turn with complex riffing and insane drumming from Jordan, still a young man though obviously he's no longer nine years old. A slight downside is one that is common to technical bands, that being the fact that individual songs are difficult to pick out under the deluge of frequently changing twisted riffs, but it's forgiveable here as the musicianship is top-notch. Jason is currently climbing the charts as a producer, having produced albums by Monstrosity and Trivium among others, which no doubt explains how members from both of those bands appear here. Coupled with his recent involvement with Charred Walls Of The Damned and the fact that several of the other guys have other bands, it's not clear where this band is headed.

Current Members

Matt Heafy

vocals (Trivium)

Jason Suecof

guitars/vocals (Charred Walls Of The Damned)

Daniel Mongrain

guitars (ex-Gorguts, ex-Martyr, Voivod)

Mike Poggione

bass (Monstrosity)

Jordan Suecof


Former Members/Guests

Tony Espinoza


Ryan Adams

rhythm guitar (guest for Profanatica)

Shawn Greenlaw



Reality Only Fantasized  
1997 self-released
  1. Eternal Descent
  2. Night Terror
  3. Sinister Perceptions
  4. Sightless
  5. Drawn-In Misery
  6. Journey Beyond
  7. Delusional Imprisonment
  8. Soul Dissolved
  • Tony Espinoza
  • Jason Suecof
  • Ryan Adams
  • Shawn Greenlaw
  • Jordan Suecof

2004 Willowtip
  1. Ingrained
  2. Fractured
  3. Perpetual Catatonia
  4. Machines
  5. Icon of Malice
  6. Reigns of Humanity
  7. The Scourge Trial
  8. Refusal
  • Matt Heafy
  • Jason Suecof
  • Daniel Mongrain
  • Mike Poggione
  • Jordan Suecof

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions