Origin: England  
Genres: NWOBHM
Last update/review: March 3, 2002

Ethel The Frog

Ethel The Frog remains a sentimental BNR favorite band, partially for their great name (which came from a Monty Python sketch) but mostly for their youthful, energetic, classic NWOBHM style displayed on their one and only album. They were one of several bands who first appeared on the classic Metal For Muthas compilation (as did Angel Witch, Praying Mantis, Iron Maiden, and Samson, among others), one of the releases that keyed the rebirth of metal in England in 1980. Even in 1980 no one seemed to know anything about them, with the album's lack of liner notes providing no help. Also notable is their rendition of the Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby", one of several versions covered by metal bands over the years. The band broke up shortly after the release of the album, though two of the members (Tognola and Conyers) went on to join a band called Salem, and released a single before that band also broke up.

Last Lineup

Doug Sheppard


Paul Tognola


Terry Hopkinson


Paul Conyers



Ethel The Frog  
1980 EMI
  1. Eleanor Rigby
  2. Apple of your eye
  3. Staying on my mind
  4. You need wheels
  5. Bleeding heart
  6. Fight back
  7. Don't do it
  8. Why don't you ask
  9. Whatever happened to love
  10. Fire bird
  • Doug Sheppard
  • Paul Tognola
  • Terry Hopkinson
  • Paul Conyers

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions