Origin: Tuscon, Arizona, USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Page online: March 7, 2023
Last update/review: March 7, 2023


Say what you will about the Relapse label, but it sure seems like bands they sign get more than their fair share of publicity and critical acclaim. Arizona's Gatecreeper signed to the label soon after their 2014 debut EP, and their first two albums on the label (Sonoran Depravation and Deserted, released in 2016 and 2019 respectively) show the band playing quite competent if not revolutionary Swedish-inspired death metal, with the latter album a bit more varied in the song tempos (and, related or not, not as well received). Then there's the slight oddity of the An Unexpected Reality EP, which consists of seven 1-minute faster songs and one 11-minute dirge -- while the overall style isn't out of line with their past, it's still a bit strange.

Current Members

Chase Mason

vocals/guitars (ex-Spirit Adrift)

Eric Wagner


Israel Garza


Sean Mears


Matthew Arrebollo


Former Members/Guests

Nate Garrett

guitars (Spirit Adrift, ex-Take Over And Destroy)

Jack Maniacky



Gatecreeper  EP
  • Chase Mason
  • Eric Wagner
  • Matthew Arrebollo

EP + Split Tracks  COMPILATION
  1. Void Below
  2. Force Fed
  3. Overdose
  4. Slave
  5. Poisoned Mind
  6. All Your Sins (Pentagram cover)
  7. Carved into Stone

Sonoran Depravation  
2016 Relapse
  1. Craving Flesh
  2. Sterilized
  3. Desperation
  4. Rotting as One
  5. Stronghold
  6. Patriarchal Grip
  7. Lost Forever
  8. Flamethrower
  9. Grotesque Operations
  • Chase Mason
  • Eric Wagner
  • Nate Garrett
  • Sean Mears
  • Matthew Arrebollo

Unleashed In The Middle East  LIVE
  1. Craving Flesh
  2. Sterilized
  3. Desperation
  4. Flamethrower
  5. Patriarchal Grip
  6. Rotting as One
  7. Stronghold

2019 Relapse
  1. Deserted
  2. Puncture Wounds
  3. From the Ashes
  4. Ruthless
  5. Everlasting
  6. Barbaric Pleasures
  7. Sweltering Madness
  8. Boiled Over
  9. In Chains
  10. Absence of Light
  11. Anxiety
  • Chase Mason
  • Eric Wagner
  • Jack Maniacky
  • Sean Mears
  • Matthew Arrebollo

Deserted  EP
2021 Relapse
  1. Starved
  2. Sick of Being Sober
  3. Rusted Gold
  4. Imposter Syndrome
  5. Amputation
  6. Depraved Not Deprived
  7. Superspreader
  8. Emptiness
  • Chase Mason
  • Eric Wagner
  • Matthew Arrebollo

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions