Origin: Droitwich, England  
Genres: NWOBHM
Facebook Official Site YouTube
Last update/review: August 15, 2022

Grim Reaper

Grim Reaper's introduction to the metal scene is found on the classic 1981 compilation Heavy Metal Heroes with their dark, very NWOBHM-sounding "The Reaper", easily one of the top tracks on that album, albeit not really sounding a lot like their later material. Eventually they signed to tiny Ebony Records, by which time they had recruited a new vocalist in Steve Grimmett and had adopted a more mainstream metal style. Somehow their debut album, See You In Hell, attracted the interest of the major label RCA, who eventually re-released the album and jump-started the band's career. They achieved remarkable success over the course of three albums despite never being exceptionally original (the album titles alone gives that away). By the late 80's the band was done, with Grimmett briefly seen in Onslaught and then spent some time in Lionheart, while guitarist Nick Bowcott achieved some fame writing guitar articles for various rock/metal magazines. Finally, Grimmett decided to resurrect the Grim Reaper name in 2006 with an all-new lineup (actually, his former solo backing band), and the band continued, officially as Steve Grimmett's Grim Reaper, until Grimmett's death in August 2022.

Last Lineup

Steve Grimmett

vocals (ex-Chateaux, ex-Onslaught) RIP: August 15, 2022, age 62

Ian Nash

guitars (Tytan)

Martin Trail


Paul White

drums (ex-Blitzkrieg)

Former Members/Guests

Nick Bowcott


Dave Wanklin


Mark Simon


Lee Harris



See You In Hell  
1984 Ebony
  1. See You In Hell
  2. Dead On Arrival
  3. Liar
  4. Wrath Of The Ripper
  5. Now Or Never
  6. Run For Your Life
  7. The Show Must Go On
  8. All Hell Let Loose
  • Steve Grimmett
  • Nick Bowcott
  • Dave Wanklin
  • Mark Simon

Fear No Evil  
1985 Ebony
  1. Fear No Evil
  2. Never Coming Back
  3. Lord Of Darkness (Your Living Hell)
  4. Matter Of Time
  5. Rock & Roll Tonight
  6. Let The Thunder Roar
  7. Lay It On The Line
  8. Fight For The Last
  9. Final Scream
  • Steve Grimmett
  • Nick Bowcott
  • Dave Wanklin
  • Mark Simon

Rock You To Hell  
1987 RCA
  1. Rock You To Hell
  2. Night Of The Vampire
  3. Lust For Freedom
  4. When Heaven Comes Down
  5. Suck It And See
  6. Rock Me 'Till I Die
  7. You'll Wish That You Were Never Born
  8. Waysted Love
  9. I Want More
  • Steve Grimmett
  • Nick Bowcott
  • Dave Wanklin
  • Lee Harris

The Best Of Grim Reaper  COMPILATION
1999 RCA
  1. See You In Hell
  2. Fear No Evil
  3. Rock You To Hell
  4. Wrath Of The Reaper
  5. Lust For Freedom
  6. Never Coming Back
  7. All Hell Let Loose
  8. The Show Must Go On
  9. Let The Thunder Roar
  10. Run For Your Life
  11. Waysted Love
  12. Now Or Never
  13. Fight For The Last
  14. Dead On Arrival
  15. Lay It On The Line
  16. Suck It And See
  17. Final Scream

Alive And Kicking  EP
  1. Rock You to Hell
  2. Night of the Vampire
  3. Fear No Evil
  4. Liar
  5. See You in Hell

Walking In The Shadows  
2016 Dissonance
  1. Wings Of Angels
  2. Walking In The Shadows
  3. Reach Out
  4. I'm Coming For You
  5. From Hell
  6. Call Me In The Morning
  7. Rock Will Never Die
  8. Temptation
  9. Thunder
  10. Now You See Me
  11. Blue Murder
  12. Come Hell Or High Water
  • Steve Grimmett
  • Ian Nash
  • Martin Trail
  • Paul White

At The Gates  
2019 Dissonance
  1. At the Gates
  2. Venom
  3. What Lies Beneath
  4. The Hand That Rocks
  5. Knock at the Door
  6. Rush
  7. Only When I Sleep
  8. Line Them Up
  9. Break Neck Speed
  10. Under the Hammer
  11. Shadow in the Dark
  • Steve Grimmett
  • Ian Nash
  • Martin Trail
  • Paul White

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions