Origin: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Last update/review: April 15, 2016


Minnesota's Gracepoint produced a solid debut album in 2000 entitled Science Of Discontent. Rooted strongly in the power/progressive metal field, with complex riffs that at times border on technical metal (without being too busy), the band avoided being overly melodic (a fate that plagues many so-called progressive bands), both in terms of the dark tone of the songs and and the gruff but clear mid-range vocals of Matt Tennessen, who often is quite reminiscient of John Bush from Armored Saint and Anthrax. Factor in a fine independent production (by the band themselves) and the result was a quality metal album. Amazingly, the same five guys are now set to release their second album, 16 years in the making, in April 2016.

Current Members

Matt Tennessen


Stefan Radzilowski


Lon Kunze


Sam Van Moer


Lance Reed



Science Of Discontent  
2000 Candlewax
  1. Overwhelm
  2. Attrition
  3. The Gallery
  4. Inside Track
  5. Science Of Discontent
  6. Shapechanger
  7. Behind The Glass
  8. The Following
  9. Your World
  • Matt Tennessen
  • Stefan Radzilowski
  • Lon Kunze
  • Sam Van Moer
  • Lance Reed

2016 independent
  1. Animal
  2. Spider
  3. Secrets
  4. Full Circle
  5. Somber
  6. Crucible
  7. Bittersweet
  8. July 4
  9. Echoes
  10. Moon
  • Matt Tennessen
  • Stefan Radzilowski
  • Lon Kunze
  • Sam Van Moer
  • Lance Reed

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions