Origin: Chicago, Illinois, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: December 31, 2015


Hex is a Chicago-based duo who released a single album, Our Synthetic Soul, in 2003 and then disappeared. Soul is an intriguing and original take on progressive metal, with one occasional soundalike being later-period Psychotic Waltz, as Hex shares that band's slightly spacey, laidback atmosphere while still incorporating heavy guitarwork and a good deal of progressive tempos and riffs. The vocals are on the unmelodic side, which to some might seem incongruous or a negative point, but to these ears they lend a sense of aggression often lacking in the hordes of prog metal bands that employ higher-pitched melodic wailers. Soul isn't a perfect album, but it's an excellent effort, and clearly worth a listen.

Last Lineup

Bob Beach


Dan Gross



Our Synthetic Soul ...  
2003 self-released
  1. Enlightenment
  2. Wurm
  3. Shut it Down
  4. Juice
  5. Put It Off
  6. A New Age
  7. Choke
  8. Age Of Mystics
  9. Fragment (cell My Sole)
  • Bob Beach
  • Dan Gross

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions