Origin: Hanko, Finland  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site YouTube
Page online: September 26, 2009
Last update/review: January 17, 2017

Olympos Mons

This Finnish band formed back to 2002, initially just the duo of singer Ian Highhill and guitarist Jari Sundström, eventually fleshing out into a proper band and recording two albums. This is textbook Euro power metal with a few progressive and symphonic touches here and there, it's clear these guys are influenced by the usual bands like early Helloween and such. It's all pretty familiar ground, though to their credit the production is tight and the musicianship is spot-on. Scandinavian power metal hasn't been an original proposition in years, and Olympos Mons was basically one in a crowd -- certainly better than competent musicians, but a band for the (many) power metal completists only.

Last Lineup

Ian Highhill


Jari Sundström


Krister Lundell


Mikko Sepponen


Former Members/Guests

Vili Ollila (guest)



2004 Limb Music
  1. Seven Seas
  2. Stars
  3. The Last Light of the Moon
  4. Wanted Man
  5. Black
  6. Through the Ice and Snow
  7. Black Desiree
  8. Cleopatra
  9. The Princess of Saba
  10. Lady in White
  11. Conquistador
  • Ian Highhill
  • Jari Sundström
  • Vili Ollila
  • Mikko Sepponen

2007 Scarlet
  1. One Word
  2. Frozen
  3. The Emperors Return
  4. The Price
  5. Wolves
  6. A Race Between Two Hearts
  7. Fire and Ice
  8. Medievil
  9. Kingdom of Winter
  10. Locked in Chains
  • Ian Highhill
  • Jari Sundström
  • Krister Lundell
  • Vili Ollila
  • Mikko Sepponen

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions