Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: Rap Metal
Last update/review: January 22, 2004

Rage Against The Machine

Rage Against The Machine may not be the first band to combine metal with rap vocals, and they certainly aren't the only such band, but they are undeniably one of the most well-known. Driven by fiercely political lyrics, their debut album came out of nowhere to take the world by storm, with the band seemingly disappearing almost as fast. Rumored to have broken up at various times, the even more successful follow-up, Evil Empire, was finally released four years later, followed by The Battle Of Los Angeles in 1999.

In the fall of 2000, vocalist Zach De La Rocha left the group, citing a breakdown of communication amongst the band members. As the focal point of the group, this naturally left the status of the band in question for some time, though the other three had committed to continuing. Those three eventually teamed up with ex-Soundgarden vocalist Chris Cornell in Audioslave.

Last Lineup

Zack De La Rocha


Tom Morello

guitars (ex-Audioslave)

Tim Commerford

bass (ex-Audioslave)

Brad Wilk

drums (ex-Audioslave, guest for Black Sabbath)


Rage Against The Machine  
1992 Epic
  1. Bombtrack
  2. Killing in the Name
  3. Take the Power Back
  4. Settle for Nothing
  5. Bullet in the Head
  6. Know Your Enemy
  7. Wake Up
  8. Fistful of Steel
  9. Township Rebellion
  10. Freedom
  • Zack De La Rocha
  • Tom Morello
  • Tim Commerford
  • Brad Wilk
1992 Readers' Album #30

Evil Empire  
1996 Epic
  1. People of the Sun
  2. Bulls on Parade
  3. Vietnow
  4. Revolver
  5. Snake Charmer
  6. Tire Me
  7. Down Rodeo
  8. Without a Face
  9. Wind Below
  10. Roll Right
  11. Year of the Boomerang
  • Zack De La Rocha
  • Tom Morello
  • Tim Commerford
  • Brad Wilk
1996 Readers' Album #30

The Battle Of Los Angeles  
1999 Epic
  1. Testify
  2. Guerrilla Radio
  3. Calm Like a Bomb
  4. Mic Check
  5. Sleep Now in the Fire
  6. Born of a Broken Man
  7. Born as Ghosts
  8. Maria
  9. Voice of the Voiceless
  10. New Millennium Homes
  11. Ashes in the Fall
  12. War Within a Breath
  • Zack De La Rocha
  • Tom Morello
  • Tim Commerford
  • Brad Wilk
1999 Readers' Album #44

Renegades (covers)  
2000 Epic
  1. Microphone Fiend
  2. Pistolgrip Pump
  3. Kick Out the Jams
  4. Renegades of Funk
  5. Beautiful World
  6. I'm Housin'
  7. In My Eyes
  8. How I Could Just Kill a Man
  9. The Ghost of Tom Joad
  10. Down on the Street
  11. Street Fighting Man
  12. Maggie's Farm
  • Zack De La Rocha
  • Tom Morello
  • Tim Commerford
  • Brad Wilk

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions