Origin: Avon, Connecticut, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Death Metal
Last update/review: October 4, 2005

Red Tide

Hailing from Connecticut, Red Tide was formed in 1993 by guitarist Jeff Wu, initially as a thrash/hardcore band. As they progressed, Wu and drummer Justin Foley became interested in jazz, and thus sought to incorporate jazz influences into their music. After a few demo tapes, they self-released an album in 1997 entitled Themes Of The Cosmic Consciousness, and sure enough the style was a mixture of technical death metal (circa late-period Death) interspersed with jazz/fusion interludes, which invariably would bring to mind bands such as Cynic or Candiria. Few bands possess the musicianship to pull off this style of music effectively, but Red Tide did so quite well. They managed a second album, Type II, in 2001, continuing the death/jazz mixture, but unfortunately disbanded soon afterward.

Last Lineup

Jeff Wu


Ian Kauffman




Justin Foley

drums (Killswitch Engage, guest for Unearth)

Former Members/Guests

Andy Dickins



Themes Of The Cosmic Consciousness  
1997 independent
  1. Intro / Vicious Circle
  2. Overcome
  3. Scarred
  4. Submission
  5. Composition No. 25
  6. Shallow
  7. Numbed Emotions
  8. Let the Lotus Feet Fly
  • Jeff Wu
  • Ian Kauffman
  • Andy Dickins
  • Justin Foley

Type II  
2001 Encrypted
  1. Reciprocity
  2. Composition #33
  3. Mood Swings
  4. Type II Error
  5. The Jar
  6. Wasting Away
  7. Deviation
  8. In Vain
  • Jeff Wu
  • Ian Kauffman
  • Blue
  • Justin Foley

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions