Origin: Trondheim, Norway  
Genres: Eclectic Metal
Page online: February 15, 2016
Last update/review: July 16, 2017

The Soundbyte

The Soundbyte is the solo project of former The 3rd And The Mortal guitarist Trond Engum, and that in itself gives a good baseline as to what's going on here, the project debuting in 2004 with Rivers Of Broken Glass. For the uninitiated, The 3rd And The Mortal was an ambient/doom metal band that gradually shed much of its metal leanings for a more experimental, trip-hop style, and The Soundbyte clearly borrows from that on some songs, and also branches out a bit like a good solo project should, as on the excellent big-band swagger of "Waiting". There's plenty for the late TATM fan to latch onto, even if the metal moments are fleeting at best. Two more albums (not reviewed here) were released in 2007 and 2012.

Current Members

Trond Engum

all instruments (The 3rd And The Mortal)

Rune Hoemsnes

drums (Manes, The 3rd And The Mortal)

Former Members/Guests

Tone Åse (guest)


Kirsti Huke (guest)

vocals (The 3rd And The Mortal)


Rivers Of Broken Glass  
  1. Fall
  2. Monyon
  3. Addiction Complete
  4. Lie
  5. Waiting
  6. Water
  7. The Line
  8. Til ungdommen
  9. Reflections of Broken Glass
  10. The Dark
  • Trond Engum

City Of Glass  
  1. A Prologue
  2. Coffins
  3. Gold
  4. Golden Shell
  5. Eyes
  6. Coordinates
  7. The Winds
  8. Destiny
  9. Epilogue
  • Trond Engum

  1. Awkward Unsilence
  2. Grietas
  3. Cadavre Exquis
  4. Transition
  5. Conversation with self
  6. Reconciled
  7. Erased Memorial
  • Tone Åse
  • Trond Engum
  • Rune Hoemsnes

Solitary IV  
  1. Fanfare
  2. Descending
  3. North
  4. Lamentations
  5. Floating
  6. Estranged
  7. Solitary
  • Tone Åse
  • Kirsti Huke
  • Trond Engum
  • Rune Hoemsnes

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions