Origin: Ireland  
Genres: NWOBHM
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: September 1, 2011

Sweet Savage

Ireland's Sweet Savage has gained some notoriety over the years for two reasons. One, they were the first band to feature guitarist Vivian Campbell, who was later seen in Dio and eventually found his way to Def Leppard (he's also done time in the recent Thin Lizzy reunion tours). Two, they were one of several NWOBHM bands made famous for being covered Metallica -- the song covered, "Killing Time" (a true NWOBHM classic), was released as a single by Sweet Savage back in 1981 and can be found on one or more early Metallica demos. During their short run in the NWOBHM heyday they were considered a hot property and great things were predicted for them. However, they were unable to secure the record deal they desired, and with Campbell's departure, the band folded. More than a decade later, two of the guys (neither of which was Campbell) reformed the band and eventually recorded the album Killing Time. Replacing Campbell is prodigy Simon McBride, only 17 years old at at the time of the recording. With several of the songs written in the band's early career, it should come as no surprise that Killing Time wasn't exactly contemporary, the band instead preferring to stick to their classic NWOBHM style. The new version of the title track doesn't compare to the original 1981 version, but it's still a fine song. Though not an innovative band, the album was a welcome sight to early fans of the group, and worth a listen for hardened NWOBHM fans. They managed a second album, Rune, two years later, but broke up again afterward. Since then sole original member Ray Haller has kept going, and another new lineup released Regeneration in 2011.

Current Members

Ray Haller


Ian Wilson

guitars (ex-Alestorm)

Marty McCloskey


Former Members/Guests

Simon McBride

guitars (Deep Purple)

Vivian Campbell

guitars (Def Leppard, ex-Dio, Last In Line, Thin Lizzy)

Trevor Fleming

guitars RIP: October 2, 2010

David Bates



Killing Time  
1996 Neat
  1. Killing Time
  2. Vengeance
  3. Welcome To The Real World
  4. Thunder
  5. Eye Of The Storm
  6. Parody Of Wisdom
  7. DUD
  8. Prospector Of Greed
  9. Why?
  10. The Raid
  11. Reach Out
  12. Ground Zero
  • Ray Haller
  • Simon McBride
  • Vivian Campbell
  • Trevor Fleming
  • David Bates

1998 Neat
  1. Ditch
  2. Life's a Game
  3. Trust
  4. I Am Nothing (You Are Less)
  5. Who Am I?
  6. Shangri-La
  7. Survive
  8. Communication
  9. Why Me?
  10. Walk on By
  • Ray Haller
  • Simon McBride
  • David Bates

  1. Wardbird
  2. Powder Monkey
  3. Regenerator
  4. No Guts, No Glory
  5. Saviour (I am not)
  6. Dor Or Die
  7. Money
  8. Razor's Edge
  9. Whiskey In The Jar
  10. Eye Of The Storm
  11. Queen's Vengeance
  12. Achilles
  13. The Raid
  • Ray Haller
  • Ian Wilson
  • Marty McCloskey

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions