Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: 80's Metal
Last update/review: May 10, 2024


Warlord was one of the great unsung bands of the 80's, as their blend of classy, vaguely progressive riffs and just the right amount of melody produced a number of great songs (two of the best being the two Metal Massacre compilation tracks, "Child Of The Damned" and "Mrs. Victoria"), but while they are deservedly underground cult favorites, mainstream success was never in the cards. Their discography early is a confusing one, as the original incarnation really only recorded a few songs (the mini-LP Deliver Us plus the odd single and aforementioned compilation track), but they were repackaged and re-recorded in various forms for several years afterward -- really, Best Of Warlord might as well be called All Of Warlord, as it covers virtually their entire career. Stage names were used throughout their brief original run (including several different vocalists who shared the same stage name), but the core of the band was always guitarist Bill Tsamis and drummer Mark Zonder, the latter of whom would find greater fortune in Fates Warning.

While the original band broke up in the mid-eighties, fans clamoring for a reunion finally brought Zonder and Tsamis back together, and in 2001 the band reformed on a project basis, with HammerFall vocalist Joacim Cans joining the reunited duo. The 2002 comeback album, Rising Out Of The Ashes, was what everyone might hope for such a release, as it retained class that was Warlord without sounding stale or dated. After another long hiatus, the band reappeared back once again in 2013 with The Holy Empire, as well as yet another re-recording of early tracks with the obscure 2015 release entitled THe Hunt For Damien. They broke up again soon after that, and with Tsamis' passing in 2021, the band seemlingly were done for good, but Zonder has kept the band going, with a new album in 2024.

Recent album: Free Spirit Soar, released on May 10, 2024.

Current Members

Giles Lavery

vocals (White Wizzard)

Eric Juris

guitars (Crystal Viper)

Diego Pires


Philip Bynoe

bass (ex-Slavior)

Jimmy Waldo

keyboards (Alcatrazz)

Mark Zonder

drums (Dramatica, ex-Fates Warning, guest for Leviathan, ex-Slavior)

Former Members/Guests

Jack Rucker


Rick Cunningham


Joacim Cans

vocals (HammerFall)

Richard Andserson


Nicholas Leptos


Bill Tsamis

guitars (ex-Lordian Guard) RIP: May 13, 2021, age 60

Paolo Viani (guest)

guitars (Black Jester)

Dave Watry


Diane Kornarens


Angelo Vafeiadis (guest)



Deliver Us  
1983 Metal Blade
  1. Deliver us from Evil
  2. Winter Tears
  3. Child of the Damned
  4. Penny for a poor Man
  5. Black Mass
  6. Lucifer's Hammer
  • Jack Rucker
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Diane Kornarens
  • Mark Zonder

And The Cannons Of Destruction Have Begun  
1984 Metal Blade
  1. Beginning
  2. Lucifer's hammer
  3. Lost and lonely days
  4. Black mass
  5. Soliloquy
  6. Aliens
  7. Mcmlxxxiv
  8. Child of the damned
  9. Deliver us from evil
  10. End
  • Rick Cunningham
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Dave Watry
  • Diane Kornarens
  • Mark Zonder

Thy Kingdom Come  COMPILATION
1986 Metal Blade

Best Of Warlord  COMPILATION
1993 Metal Blade

Rising Out Of The Ashes  
2002 Atrheia
  1. Battle Of The Living Dead
  2. Enemy Mind
  3. Invaders
  4. Winds Of Thor
  5. War In Heaven
  6. My Name Is Man
  7. Lucifer's Hammer
  8. Sons Of A Dream
  9. Achilles Revenge
  • Joacim Cans
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Mark Zonder

Book 1  VIDEO
2003 Drakkar

2012 Arkeyn Steel
  1. Deliver Us From Evil
  2. Winter Tears
  3. Child of the Damned
  4. Penny For a Poor Man
  5. Black Mass
  6. Lucifer's Hammer
  7. Mrs.Victoria
  8. Lost and Lonely Days
  9. Aliens
  10. Beginning / Lucifer's Hammer
  11. Lost and Lonely Days
  12. Black Mass
  13. Soliloquy
  14. Aliens
  16. Child of the Damned
  17. Deliver Us From Evil / End
  18. Hands and Feet Thunderchild's Farewell
  19. Battle of the Living Dead
  20. Enemy Mind
  21. Invaders
  22. Winds of Thor
  23. War in Heaven
  24. My Name is Man
  25. Lucifer's Hammer
  26. Sons of a Dream
  27. Achilles Revenge

The Holy Empire  
2013 Battle Hymns
  1. 70,000 Sorrows
  2. Glory
  3. Thy Kingdom Come
  4. City Walls of Troy
  5. Kill Zone
  6. Night of the Fury
  7. Father
  8. The Holy Empire
  • Richard Andserson
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Philip Bynoe
  • Mark Zonder
2013 Readers' Album #73

Live In Athens 2013  LIVE
  1. . Intro
  2. Deliver Us from Evil
  3. Winter Tears
  4. Child of the Damned
  5. Penny for a Poor Man
  6. Black Mass
  7. Mrs. Victoria
  8. Lost and Lonely Days
  9. Aliens
  10. City Walls of Troy
  11. Kill Zone
  12. War in Heaven
  13. Winds of Thor
  14. Lucifer's Hammer
  15. Achilles Revenge
  • Giles Lavery
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Paolo Viani
  • Philip Bynoe
  • Angelo Vafeiadis
  • Mark Zonder

The Hunt For Damien  
  1. Child of the Damned
  2. Winter Tears
  3. Black Mass
  4. Lucifer's Hammer
  5. Mrs. Victoria
  6. Lost and Lonely Days
  7. Battle of the Living Dead
  8. Winds of Thor
  9. Night of the Fury
  • Nicholas Leptos
  • Bill Tsamis
  • Paolo Viani
  • Philip Bynoe
  • Angelo Vafeiadis
  • Mark Zonder

Free Spirit Soar  
2024 High Roller
  1. Behold a Pale Horse
  2. The Rider
  3. Conquerors
  4. Worms of the Earth
  5. The Watchman
  6. Free Spirit Soar
  7. The Bell Tolls
  8. Alarm
  9. Twin
  10. Revelation XIX
  • Giles Lavery
  • Eric Juris
  • Philip Bynoe
  • Jimmy Waldo
  • Mark Zonder

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions