Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Official Site YouTube
Last update/review: April 3, 2021

Agent Steel

It's been a rather chaotic ride for Los Angeles's Agent Steel. Arising to prominence in the mid-eighties, their two albums and EP are regarded as 80's classics, with a potent speed/thrash metal style and distinctive vocals by John Cyriis leading the way. But, amidst rumors that Cyriis was hard to work with (or for, as the case might have been), it all ended soon after 1987's Unstoppable Force. Cyriis himself seemed to disappear completely off the face of the earth (though years later he would cryptically announce a new band, Stellar Seed, which never amounted to anything), while guitarist Juan Garcia soldiered on with Evildead. Some twelve years later, most of the band, minus Cyriis, were back in action, briefly considering a name shift to Agents Of Steel before reverting to their regular name, and Agent Steel Mk II was in business, starting with 1999's Omega Conspiracy. Four years later, another name shift was considered and this time officially announced, to Order Of The Illuminati (apparently due to threatened legal action from the still-enigmatic Cyriis). After a time the legal issues were resolved, once again they were called Agent Steel, and Order Of The Illuminati became the title of their 2003 album. Another four years, another album (Alienenigma, in 2007), and finally it's all come full circle, with longtime vocalist Bruce Hall leaving the band in the spring of 2010 to be replaced by ... John Cyriis. Predictably, this reunion didn't last too long, with Cyriis off doing his own thing again, but the other members continued on their own and formed Masters Of Metal, recording an EP and LP in 2013 and 2015. Finally, yet another reunion was announced in January 2019, with Cyriis at the helm with an as yet unknown lineup, promising a new album later in the year.

Current Members

John Cyriis

vocals (ex-Abattoir)

Nikolay Atanasov


Vinicius Carvalho


Shuichi Oni


Rasmus Kjær


Former Members/Guests

Bruce Hall

vocals (Psychosis)

Juan Garcia

guitars (ex-Abattoir, Body Count, Evildead, Killing Machine, Masters Of Metal, ex-Obscene Gesture)

Kurt Colfelt

guitars (ex-Holy Terror)

Bernie Versailles

guitars (ex-Engine, guest for Fates Warning, Masters Of Metal, Redemption)

George Robb

bass (ex-Obscene Gesture)

Michael Zaputil


Karlos Medina

bass (Evildead)

Chuck Profus

drums (ex-Obscene Gesture)

Rigo Amezcua

drums (Masters Of Metal)


Skeptics Apocalypse  
1985 Combat
  1. The Calling
  2. Agents Of Steel
  3. Taken By Force
  4. Evil Eye / Evil Minds
  5. Bleed For The Godz
  6. Children Of The Sun
  7. 144,000 Gone
  8. Guilty As Charged
  9. Back To Reign
  • John Cyriis
  • Juan Garcia
  • Kurt Colfelt
  • George Robb
  • Chuck Profus

Mad Locust Rising  EP
1985 Combat
  1. The Swarm Is Upon Us
  2. Mad Locust Rising
  3. The Ripper
  4. Let It Be Done / The Day At Guyana
  5. 144,000 Gone
  • John Cyriis
  • Juan Garcia
  • Bernie Versailles
  • Michael Zaputil
  • Chuck Profus

Unstoppable Force  
1987 Combat
  1. Unstoppable Force
  2. Never Surrender
  3. Indestructive
  4. Chosen To Stay
  5. Still Searchin'
  6. Rager
  7. The Day At Guyana
  8. Nothin' Left
  9. Traveler
  10. The Ripper (Japanese bonus track)
  • John Cyriis
  • Juan Garcia
  • Bernie Versailles
  • Michael Zaputil
  • Chuck Profus

The Omega Conspiracy  
1999 Candlelight
  1. Destroy The Hush
  2. Illuminati Is Machine
  3. Fighting Backwards
  4. New Godz
  5. Know Your Master
  6. Infinity
  7. Awaken The Swarm
  8. Into The Nowhere
  9. Bleed Forever
  10. It's Not What You Think
  • Bruce Hall
  • Juan Garcia
  • Bernie Versailles
  • Karlos Medina
  • Chuck Profus
1999 Readers' Album #80

Order Of The Illuminati  
2003 Scarlet
  1. Avenger
  2. Ten Fists Of Nations
  3. Earth Under Lucifer
  4. Enslaved
  5. Insurrection
  6. Apocalypse
  7. Forever Black
  8. Dance Of St. Vitus
  9. Dead Eyes
  10. Kontrol
  11. Human Bullet Brainwashed
  • Bruce Hall
  • Juan Garcia
  • Bernie Versailles
  • Karlos Medina
  • Rigo Amezcua
2003 Readers' Album #46

Live At Dynamo Open Air  VIDEO LIVE
2005 Scarlet

Mad Locust Rising  VIDEO
2007 Cherry Red

2007 Mascot
  1. Fashioned From Dust
  2. Wash The Planet Clean
  3. Hail To The Chief
  4. Liberty Lying Bleeding
  5. Hybridized
  6. Extinct
  7. Wormfood
  8. W.P.D.
  9. Tiamat's Fall
  10. Lamb To The Slaughter
  • Bruce Hall
  • Juan Garcia
  • Bernie Versailles
  • Karlos Medina
  • Rigo Amezcua
2007 Readers' Album #59

No Other Godz Before Me  
2021 Dissonance
  1. Passage To AfronV
  2. No Other Godz Before Me
  3. Trespassers
  4. Carousel Of Vagrant Souls
  5. The Devil's Greatest Trick
  6. Constellation
  7. Separation Of Church And Fate
  8. No Way Out
  9. Outer Space Connection
  10. Time Machine
  11. A Sinister Turn Of Events
  12. The Way Of The Mechanism
  13. Entrance To AfronV

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions