Origin: Sweden  
Last update/review: August 14, 2003


Illwill was a band/project featuring several people with past or present ties to King Diamond or Mercyful Fate. Evilution is a heavier album than one might think, combining aggressive Euro technical thrash with Pantera-ish crunchiness and drum patterns. The vocals are quite good, often resembling Rob Halford, at other times more shouted (90's style) and still other times more melodic, though definitely European in style. Though this sounds little like MF/KD, it's an entertaining listen and a worthwhile album. This appears to be a one-off project with no plans for future activity.

Last Lineup

Yonas Af Dahlstrøm


Andy LaRocque (Anders Allhage)

guitars (ex-Death, ex-EF Band, King Diamond, ex-X-World/5)

Sharlee D'Angelo (Charles Andreason)

bass (Arch Enemy, ex-Dismember, ex-Mercyful Fate, The Night Flight Orchestra, ex-Sinergy, Spiritual Beggars, ex-Witchery)

Snowy Shaw

drums (ex-Denner/Shermann, guest for Dimmu Borgir, ex-Dream Evil, ex-King Diamond, ex-Mercyful Fate, ex-Memento Mori, ex-Notre Dame, guest for Opera Diabolicus)


1999 New Renaissance
  1. Singh Hai
  2. V - For Vulgarians
  3. Cult
  4. Il Organizatione
  5. Six Sec Sex
  6. Whether With or Without
  7. Eternal Sleep
  8. K.A.O.S
  9. Bid Farewell to Wellfare
  10. Who To Trust?
  11. This Barren Life
  12. 365 Reasons to Commit Suicide
  • Yonas Af Dahlstrøm
  • Andy LaRocque
  • Sharlee D'Angelo
  • Snowy Shaw

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions