Origin: Norway  
Page online: April 25, 2009
Last update/review: April 25, 2009


Trinacria is essentially a side project for the core members of Enslaved, with the standard goal of branching from their well-known style. So, the result is that while there are clear Enslaved elements here, this really doesn't sound like an Enslaved record. In general, the songs are more meandering, with a slight nod toward the atmospheric hardcore of bands like Cult Of Luna and the like, though at times ("Make No Mistake") they attempt a cool, upbeat industrial thrash style to great effect. The other noticeable difference is the multiple noises and samples, courtesy of Maja Ratkje and Hild Sofie Tafjold, apparently member of a "noise group" known as Fe-mail. At times these effects are distracting, at other times engaging, but in either case they lend a touch of uniqueness to the proceedings. This not a perfect album, as some of the songs are too long ("Turn-away" features a cool riff, but at over nine minutes it doesn't develop into anything more than a singular repeated riff). But it's a cool album, and if the guys can fit in more work here around their day jobs, the potential is limitless.

Current Members

Grutle Kjellson

vocals (Enslaved)

Maja Ratkje


Ivar Bjørnson

guitars (ex-Borknagar, Enslaved, ex-Gorgoroth)

Arve Isdal

guitars (Audrey Horne, Demonaz, Enslaved, ex-I, ex-Malignant Eternal, Ov Hell)

Espen Lien

bass (Audrey Horne)

Hild Sofie Tafjord


Iver Sandoy



Travel Now Journey Infinitely  
2008 Indie
  1. Turn Away
  2. The Silence
  3. Make No Mistake
  4. Endless Roads
  5. Breach
  6. Travel Now Journey Infinitely
  • Grutle Kjellson
  • Maja Ratkje
  • Ivar Bjørnson
  • Arve Isdal
  • Espen Lien
  • Hild Sofie Tafjord
  • Iver Sandoy

Copyright © 1995-2019 BNR Productions