Origin: Chicago, Illinois, USA  
Genres: Doom Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: August 15, 2013


Of the many bands who take a large influence from Black Sabbath, Trouble is arguably one of the best, and certainly one of the most influential. They emerged from Chicago in the early eighties, promoting themselves as "White Metal" in reference to their spiritual, somewhat religious lyrics (though they never aligned themselves with the Christian metal scene and are not really considered a religious band). They released a solid trio of albums on the Metal Blade label in the eighties before hooking up with Rick Rubin's Def American label in 1990. Their six albums rank along the best bodies of work by any band -- truly doom masterpieces.

For many years after the release of their last album in 1995 came scattered reports that the band was on hiatus, inactive, or outright disbanded. Except for some members participating in other bands such as Lid and Supershine, little was heard from the band members themselves. Finally, in 2001, the band came back together, and in 2003 officially commenced work on a new album (originally titled Seven, eventually released as Simple Mind Condition in March 2007). Vocalist Eric Wagner stepped away from the band the following year, citing a disinterest in touring. His replacement was former Warrior Soul frontman Kory Clarke, who himself quit in February 2012, to be replaced by Exhorder vocalist Kyle Thomas, who had previously sung with the band for a few gigs several years prior. A new album has been in the works for some time, no release date yet known.

Current Members

Kyle Thomas

vocals (ex-Alabama Thunderpussy, Exhorder, ex-Floodgate, Pitts Vs Preps)

Bruce Franklin

guitars (ex-Generation, ex-Supershine, guest for Tourniquet)

Rick Wartell

guitars (ex-Wet Animal)

Rob Hultz

bass (Solace)

Mark Lira

drums (ex-Wet Animal)

Former Members/Guests

Eric Wagner

vocals (Blackfinger, Gatecreeper, ex-Lid, The Skull)

Kory Clarke

vocals (Warrior Soul)

Sean McAllister


Ron Holzner

bass (ex-Debris Inc., The Skull)

Chuck Robinson


Shane Pasqualla

bass (ex-Wet Animal)

Jeff Olson

drums (ex-The Skull, ex-Supershine, ex-Wet Animal)

Dennis Lesh

drums (ex-Chastain, ex-Kenziner, ex-Stygian)

Barry Stern

drums (ex-Zoetrope) RIP: April 1, 2005, post-surgery complications, age 45


Psalm 9  
1984 Metal Blade
  1. The Tempter
  2. Assassin
  3. Victim of the Insane
  4. Revelation (Life or Death)
  5. Bastards Will Pay
  6. The Fall of Lucifer
  7. Endtime
  8. Psalm 9
  9. Tales of Brave Ulysses
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Sean McAllister
  • Jeff Olson

The Skull  
1985 Metal Blade
  1. Pray For The Dead
  2. Fear No Evil
  3. The Wish
  4. The Truth Is, What Is
  5. Wickedness Of Man
  6. Gideon
  7. The Skull
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Sean McAllister
  • Jeff Olson

Run To The Light  
1987 Metal Blade
  1. The Misery Shows
  2. Thinking of the Past
  3. On Borrowed Time
  4. Run to the Light
  5. Peace of Mind
  6. Born in a Prison
  7. Tuesday's Child
  8. The Beginning
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Ron Holzner
  • Dennis Lesh

1990 Def American
  1. At the End of My Daze
  2. The Wolf
  3. Psychotic Reaction
  4. A Sinner's Fame
  5. The Misery Shows (Act II)
  6. R.I.P.
  7. Black Shapes of Doom
  8. Heaven On My Mind
  9. E.N.D.
  10. All is Forgiven
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Ron Holzner
  • Barry Stern
1990 Readers' Album #23

Manic Frustration  
1992 Def American
  1. Come Touch the Sky
  2. 'Scuse Me
  3. The Sleeper
  4. Fear
  5. Rain
  6. Tragedy Man
  7. Memory's Garden
  8. Manic Frustration
  9. Hello Stawberry Skies
  10. Mr. White
  11. Breathe ...
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Ron Holzner
  • Barry Stern
1992 Readers' Album #19

Plastic Green Head  
1995 Bullet
  1. Plastic Green Head
  2. The Eye
  3. Flowers
  4. Porpoise Song
  5. Opium-Eater
  6. Hear the Earth
  7. Another Day
  8. Requiem
  9. Below Me
  10. Long Shadows Fall
  11. Tomorrow Never Knows
  12. Till The End of Time
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Ron Holzner
  • Jeff Olson
1995 Readers' Album #68

Live In Stockholm  VIDEO
2006 Escapi

Simple Mind Condition  
2007 Escapi
  1. Goin' Home
  2. Mindbender
  3. Seven
  4. Pictures of Life
  5. After the Rain
  6. Trouble Maker
  7. Arthur Brown's Whiskey Bar
  8. Simple Mind Condition
  9. Ride in the Sky
  10. If I Only Had a Reason
  11. The Beginning of Sorrows
  • Eric Wagner
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Chuck Robinson
  • Jeff Olson
2007 Readers' Album #60

Live In L.A.  LIVE
2008 self-released
  1. Intro
  2. R.I.P.
  3. The Sleeper
  4. Touch the Sky
  5. Plastic Green Head
  6. The Eye
  7. Simple Mind Condition
  8. Mr. White
  9. Endtime
  10. Troublemaker
  11. End of My Daze
  • Kory Clarke
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Chuck Robinson
  • Mark Lira

Unplugged  LIVE
  1. a.m.
  2. Rain
  3. Flowers
  4. Requiem
  5. Smile
  6. Misery
  7. Mythic Hero
  8. Waiting For The Sun
  9. Fly
  10. Heartful Of Soul

Live Palatine 1989  LIVE
2010 Escapi

Live Schaumburg 1993  LIVE
2010 Escapi

Victim Of The Insane - Demos/Rarities 2  COMPILATION
2011 High Roller

Revelations (Life Or Death) - Demos/Rarities 1  COMPILATION
2011 High Roller

Live 1983  LIVE
2011 High Roller

The Distortion Field  
2013 FRW
  1. Sink or Swim
  2. Paranoid Conspiracy
  3. Glass of Lies
  4. The Grey Chill of Autumn
  5. When the Sky Comes Down
  6. Butterflies
  7. Your Reflections
  8. Have I Told You
  9. The Apple from the Snake
  10. Hunters of Doom
  11. Sucker
  12. The Broken Have Spoken
  • Kyle Thomas
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Rick Wartell
  • Shane Pasqualla
  • Mark Lira
2013 Readers' Album #36

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions