Origin: USA  
Genres: 80's Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: July 1, 2009
Last update/review: July 1, 2009

Dr. Mastermind

Dr. Mastermind was/is a project founded by vocalist Matt McCourt, the band coming into being shortly after his departure from Wild Dogs, apparently with some of the ideas here coming from a previous project of his called Evil Genius. He roped in fellow Dogs drummer Deen Castronovo as well as a flashy guitarist in Kurt James, and in 1986 a self-titled album was released on the Shrapnel label. True to Shrapnel form, guitar playing is at the forefront here, with the music being pretty standard 80's anthemic metal fare. The original incarnation was short-lived, but in the intervening years McCourt has played with many others in various Dr. Mastermind lineups (he's done the same thing with Wild Dogs, as he now essentially leads both bands) and has released several recordings (info is presumably buried somewhere in the incomprehensible official site), though the actual status of the band these days isn't really clear.

Last Lineup

Matt McCourt

vocals/bass (ex-Mayhem, Wild Dogs)

Kurt James


Deen Castronovo

drums (ex-Geezer, ex-Ozzy Osbourne, ex-Wild Dogs)


Dr. Mastermind  
1986 Shrapnel
  1. Domination
  2. The Right Way
  3. Man of the Year
  4. The Villa (2631)
  5. We Want the World
  6. Control
  7. Abuser
  8. Black Leather Maniac
  9. I Don't Wanna Die
  • Matt McCourt
  • Kurt James
  • Deen Castronovo

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions