Origin: Springfield, Virginia, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Page online: March 12, 2007
Last update/review: February 20, 2010

Ephemeral Sun

Ephemeral Sun is essentially the continuation of Rain Fell Within, a once-promising gothic metal act that unfortunately broke up for personal reasons after two albums. After recording a demo/EP in 2003, the band presented Broken Door a year later. This isn't miles from the older Rain From Within material, but it's decidedly more in the progressive rock/metal realm, exploring several musical styles while remaining cohesive. As with RFW, classiness and maturity are keys here, as this is a band with ideas and passion. Not the heaviest band of all time, but a sure bet for prog rock fans. Six years after their debut, they returned with an all-instrumental album, Harvest Aorta.

Current Members

Brian O'Neill


Charles Gore

bass (ex-Rain Fell Within)

John Battema

keyboards (ex-Rain Fell Within)

Tim Miller

drums (ex-Rain Fell Within)

Former Members/Guests

Laurie Ann Haus

vocals (ex-Rain Fell Within)


Broken Door  
2004 self-released
  1. Discovery
  2. Hands of Fire
  3. A Blanket of Darkness
  4. Fall Betrays the Earth ...
  5. ... Winter has no Mercy
  6. Broken Door
  7. Walking with Frightened Angels
  8. The Dance
  9. Interlude
  10. Rats
  11. Approaching Acheron
  12. A Song for Twilight
  • Laurie Ann Haus
  • Brian O'Neill
  • Charles Gore
  • John Battema
  • Tim Miller

Harvest Aorta  
2010 self-released
  1. Springsong
  2. Prism
  3. Memoirs
  4. Harvest Aorta
  • Brian O'Neill
  • Charles Gore
  • John Battema
  • Tim Miller

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions