Origin: Ytre Enebakk, Norway  
Genres: Black Metal, Eclectic Metal
Last update/review: November 5, 2017


Fleurety is one of the oddest left-field black metal bands to emerge in a long time, rivalling Arcturus and even Ulver in their quirkiness, enough so that black metal is hardly a descriptive term for them at all. Their style is an odd mixture of jazz, black metal, and some vague progressive overtones -- and that's on Min Tid Skal Komme, which is almost conventional compared to their later releases. Vocals range from black shrieks to female crooning, though compared to other bands the vocals in general are more understated. Essentially a two-man project (though the guest list on the Department of Apocalyptic Affairs release contains several well-known musicians from the Norwegian black metal community), Fleurety is one of those bands that, even after repeated listens, feature songs/parts that make one scratch their head and ask "Huh?". But while some parts of their music are seemingly incomprehensible, there are many times where the end result is just plain cool. It takes an open mind (and some repeated efforts) to get into music like this, but it's well worth the effort. The band has struggled with record labels that don't seem to know how to present them (not surprising), and so they are more or less on hiatus until this situation can be rectified.

Current Members

Alexander Nordgaren


Svein Egil Hatlevik

vocals/drums/keyboards (ex-Dødheimsgard)

Former Members/Guests

Carl-Michael Eide (guest)

bass/vocals (Aura Noir, ex-Cadaver, ex-Dødheimsgard, ex-Ved Buens Ende, ex-Virus)

Filip Roshauw (guest)

backing vocals

Kristoffer Momrak (guest)



Min Tid Skal Komme  
1995 Misanthropy
  1. Fragmenter av en fortid
  2. En Skikkelse i horisonten
  3. Englers piler har ingen brodd
  4. Fragmenter av en fremtid
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Last-Minute Lies  EP
1999 Supernal
  1. Facets
  2. I saw claws
  3. Vortex
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Department Of Apocalyptic Affairs  
2000 Supernal
  1. Exterminators
  2. Face in a fever
  3. Shotgun blast
  4. Fingerprint
  5. Facets 0
  6. Last-minute lies
  7. Barb wire smile
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Ingentes Atque Decorii Vexilliferi ...  EP
2009 Aesthetic
  1. Descent into Darkness
  2. Choirs Behind
  3. Absence
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Evoco Bestias  EP
  1. Summon The Beasts
  2. Animal Of The City
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Et Spiritus Meus Semper Sub ...  EP
  1. Degenerate Machine
  2. It's When You're Cold
  3. Animal Of The City
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

Fragmenta Culinsvus Aetatis Contemporaneae  EP
  1. Consensus
  2. Carnal Nations
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik

2017 Aesthetic
  1. Descent Into Darkness
  2. Choirs
  3. Absence
  4. Summon The Beasts
  5. Animal Of The City
  6. Degenerate Machine
  7. It's When You're Cold
  8. Consensus
  9. Carnal Nations

The White Death  
2017 Peaceville
  1. The White Death
  2. The Ballad of Copernicus
  3. Lament of the Optimist
  4. Trauma
  5. The Science of Normality
  6. Future Day
  7. Ambitions of the Dead
  8. Ritual of Light and Taxidermy
  • Alexander Nordgaren
  • Svein Egil Hatlevik
  • Carl-Michael Eide
  • Filip Roshauw
  • Kristoffer Momrak

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions