Origin: Seattle, Washington, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: January 16, 2016
Last update/review: January 16, 2016

Ghost Ship Octavius

Ghost Ship Octavius pairs drummer Van Williams and guitarist Matt Wicklund, the duo freed up after the breakup of their former bands, Nevermore and God Forbid respectively. With unknown vocalist Adon Fanion completing the lineup, the self-titled debut album arrived in 2015. While there are some nods to Nevermore's brand of aggressive, technical power/thrash metal, Ghost Ship Octavius owes more to classic progressive metal than anything, with Fanion's excellent clear vocals the perfect complement to intricate yet relaxed riffing and (naturally) standout drumming from Williams. The album was released independently following a successful Kickstarter effort, though this certainly sounds label-ready and given the pedigree, it's mildly surprising this wasn't snapped up by a indie label.

Current Members

Adon Fanion


Matt Wicklund

guitars (ex-God Forbid)

Van Williams

drums (guest for Ashes Of Ares, Liege Lord, ex-Nevermore)


Ghost Ship Octavius  
2015 independent
  1. Saturn and Skies
  2. Alive
  3. Silence
  4. Mills of the Gods
  5. In Dreams
  6. Pendulum
  7. Bloodcaster
  8. Epitaph
  9. Burn Away
  10. Sea Storm
  11. Fate Is Blind
  • Adon Fanion
  • Matt Wicklund
  • Van Williams

2018 independent
  1. Turned to Ice
  2. Ocean of Memories
  3. Saturnine
  4. Delirium
  5. Ghost in the Well
  6. Chosen
  7. Edge of Time
  8. Far Below
  9. The Maze
  10. Bleeding on the Horns
  11. Burn This Ladder
  • Adon Fanion
  • Matt Wicklund
  • Van Williams

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions