Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: 80's Metal
Last update/review: January 24, 2015


Hellion was one of the cult bands of the 80's, a band that won its fair share of acclaim but never got the breaks it deserved. Formed by and fronted by the charismatic Ann Boleyn (later to become founder of New Renaissance Records), the band attracted the attention of Ronnie James Dio and his wife Wendy, the latter of which became Hellion's manager for a time. A debut mini-LP was released, but the band broke up soon afterward. Boleyn recruited a different lineup and released what is probably the band's best-known album, Screams In The Night. Hardly the most complex or original album in existence, Screams' rather basic, anthemic hard rock/metal sounds a bit dated now (particularly songs such as "Bad Attitude" and "Easy Action", which are almost glam in their approach), but on the other hand it delivered some old fashioned headbanging pleasure, and it remains a cult favorite for many. That lineup also disintegrated, and in an interesting twist, most of the original lineup was recruited for the next two albums, neither of which generated the same interest as the first two. In the intervening years the band has been an on-again, off-again affair, recording sporadically, yet Boleyn and crew are still alive and kicking, with their latest album, Karma's A Bitch, released in 2014.

Current Members

Ann Boleyn (Anne Hull)


Maxwell Carlisle


Bjorn Englen

bass (ex-Yngwie Malmsteen)

Scott Warren

keyboards (ex-Dio, ex-Heaven And Hell, ex-Keel)

Simon Wright

guitars (ex-AC/DC, ex-Dio, Operation: Mindcrime, ex-Rhino Bucket)

Former Members/Guests

Ray Schenk


Alan Barlam


Chet Thompson


Chris Kessler


Bill Sweet


Alex Campbell


Dave Dutton


Rex Tennyson


Glenn Cannon


Sean Kelly


Greg Pecka


Sean Scott



Hellion  EP
1983 Music For Nations
  1. Break The Spell
  2. Don't Take No
  3. Backstabber
  4. Lookin' For A Good Time
  5. Driving Hard
  6. Up From The Depths
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Alan Barlam
  • Bill Sweet
  • Sean Kelly

Screams In The Night  
1987 New Renaissance
  1. Screams In The Night
  2. Bad Attitude
  3. Better Off Dead
  4. Upside Down Guitar Solo
  5. The Hand
  6. Explode
  7. Easy Action
  8. Put The Hammer Down
  9. Stick 'Em
  10. Children Of The Night
  11. The Tower Of Air
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Chet Thompson
  • Alex Campbell
  • Greg Pecka

Postcards From The Asylum  EP
1988 New Renaissance
  1. Nevermore!
  2. The Evil One
  3. Exciter
  4. Run For Your Life
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Alan Barlam
  • Dave Dutton
  • Sean Kelly

The Black Book  
1990 Music For Nations
  1. The Black Book
  2. Stormrider
  3. Living In Hell
  4. The Discovery
  5. Losing Control
  6. Arrest ... Jail ... Bail
  7. Daemon Attack
  8. Conspiracy
  9. Amnesia
  10. The Warning
  11. The Room Behind The Door
  12. The Atonement
  13. Immigrant Song
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Alan Barlam
  • Chet Thompson
  • Rex Tennyson
  • Sean Kelly

Up From The Depths  COMPILATION
1997 New Renaissance
  1. Nightmares In Daylight
  2. Backstabber
  3. Fire
  4. Up From The Depths
  5. Break The Spell
  6. Nevermore
  7. The Evil One
  8. Exciter
  9. Run For Your Life

Live And Well In Hell  LIVE
1999 New Renaissance
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Alan Barlam
  • Bill Sweet
  • Sean Kelly

The Witching Hour  EP
2000 New Renaissance
  1. The Witching Hour
  2. Morning Star
  3. The Hand
  4. Children Of The Night
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Chet Thompson
  • Alex Campbell
  • Greg Pecka

2000 New Renaissance
  1. Bream The Spell
  2. Driving Hard
  3. Don't Take No For An Answer
  4. Run For Your Life
  5. Witching Hour
  6. Screams In The Night
  7. Bad Attitude
  8. Exciter
  9. Breakdown
  10. The Black Book
  11. Stormrider
  12. Dead And Gone

Cold Night In Hell  LIVE
2002 New Renaissance
  1. Run for Your Life
  2. Nothin' to Say
  3. Never More
  4. Don't Take No (For an Answer)
  5. Driving Hard (For You)
  6. Get Ready
  7. Backstabber
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Alan Barlam
  • Bill Sweet
  • Sean Kelly

Will Not Go Quietly  
2003 Massacre
  1. Will Not Go Quietly
  2. Resurrection
  3. Welcome (To My Humble Home)
  4. Revenge (Is Sweet)
  5. The Last Straw
  6. Wildest Dreams
  7. Dead And Gone
  8. Dream Deceiver
  9. Shit
  10. Duchess of Debauchery
  11. User 7
  12. See You In Hell
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Ray Schenk
  • Chris Kessler
  • Glenn Cannon
  • Sean Scott

To Hellion And Back  COMPILATION
  1. Backstabber
  2. Driving Hard
  3. Don't Take No For An Answer
  4. Break The Spell
  5. Up From The Depths
  6. Run For Your Life
  7. Get Ready
  8. Witching Hour
  9. Screams In The Night
  10. Upside Down Guitar Solo /
  11. The Hand
  12. Bad Attitude
  13. Tower Of Air
  14. Nevermore
  15. Exciter
  16. The Evil One
  17. Breakdown
  18. The Black Book
  19. Living In Hell
  20. Stormrider
  21. Demon Attack
  22. Resurrection / Will Not Go Quietly
  23. Shit (Is Gonna Hit The Fan)
  24. Dead and Gone
  25. Dream Deceiver
  26. Hell Has No Fury

Karma's A Bitch  EP
2014 New Renaissance
  1. Betrayer
  2. Karma's a Bitch
  3. Hell Has No Fury
  4. Watch the City Burn
  5. 'Til the End
  • Ann Boleyn
  • Maxwell Carlisle
  • Bjorn Englen
  • Scott Warren
  • Simon Wright

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions