Origin: Seattle, Washington, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: March 31, 2015
Last update/review: December 1, 2017

Operation: Mindcrime

When Geoff Tate was relieved of his duties from Queensryche and subsequently claimed the Queensryche name for himself, inevitably the courts intervened. The decision (in retrospect, a fairly decent one) was that the remaining members retained the band name but Tate retained rights to the seminal 1988 album (only he and his band can play the entire album), and so he renamed his project Operation: Mindcrime. The first album, Frequency Unknown, was released in 2013 before the court ruling and so bears the Queensryche name. Recorded as a solo project featuring a host of guests (including most of the guys now listed as band members), the album got mixed reviews but may ultimately be the springboard to Tate's new career. Apparently a trio of concept-related albums is in the works.

Current Members

Geoff Tate

vocals (ex-Queensryche)

Kelly Gray

guitars (ex-Queensryche)

Scott Moughton


John Moyer

bass (ex-Adrenaline Mob, Disturbed)

Randy Gane


Simon Wright

drums (ex-AC/DC, ex-Dio, Hellion, ex-Rhino Bucket)

Brian Tichy

drums (ex-Pride & Glory, ex-Whitesnake)

Former Members/Guests

Rudy Sarzo

bass (ex-Blue Oyster Cult, ex-Dio, ex-M.A.R.S., ex-Ozzy Osbourne, ex-Quiet Riot, ex-Whitesnake)


Frequency Unknown  
  1. Cold
  2. Dare
  3. Give It to You
  4. Slave
  5. In the Hands of God
  6. Running Backwards
  7. Life Without You
  8. Everything
  9. Fallen
  10. The Weight of the World
  11. Silent Lucidity (Queensrÿche cover)
  12. Empire (Queensrÿche cover)
  13. Jet City Woman (Queensrÿche cover)
  14. I Don't Believe in Love (Queensrÿche cover)
  • Geoff Tate
  • Kelly Gray
  • Rudy Sarzo
  • Randy Gane
  • Simon Wright

The Key  
2015 Frontiers
  1. Choices
  2. Burn
  3. Re-Inventing the Future
  4. Ready to Fly
  5. Discussions in a Smoke Filled Room
  6. Life or Death? (feat. Mark Daly of The Voodoos)
  7. The Stranger
  8. Hearing Voices
  9. On Queue
  10. An Ambush of Sadness
  11. Kicking in the Door
  12. The Fall
  • Geoff Tate
  • Kelly Gray
  • Scott Moughton
  • John Moyer
  • Randy Gane
  • Simon Wright
  • Brian Tichy

2016 Frontiers
  1. Resurrection
  2. When All Falls Away
  3. A Moment in Time
  4. Through the Noize
  5. Left for Dead
  6. Miles Away
  7. Healing My Wounds
  8. The Fight
  9. Taking on the World
  10. Invincible
  11. A Smear Campaign
  12. Which Side You're On
  13. Into the Hands of the World
  14. Live from My Machine
  • Geoff Tate
  • Kelly Gray
  • Scott Moughton
  • John Moyer
  • Randy Gane
  • Simon Wright
  • Brian Tichy

The New Reality  
2017 Frontiers
  1. A Head Long Jump
  2. Wake Me Up
  3. It Was Always You
  4. The Fear
  5. Under Control
  6. The New Reality
  7. My Eyes
  8. A Guitar In Church?
  9. All For What?
  10. The Wave
  11. Tidal Change
  12. The Same Old Story

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions