Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Last update/review: September 14, 2021


Hexen was one of several upstart bands riding the retro thrash wave of the mid-2000's (see Fueled By Fire, Bonded By Blood, Warbringer, et al). They self-released an album, Heal A Million ... Kill A Million in 2005, then essentially re-recorded most of that album and added some new tracks for what they called their proper debut, State Of Insurgency, appropriately released on the Old School Metal label and featuring instantly recognizeable cover art from the infamous Ed Repka. As with the aforementioned bands, progress and innovation take a back street to bashing out 80's thrash riffs, and Hexen do it as well as anyone. They released a second album in 2012 and then went dark for almost a decade, but founder Andre Hartoonian is resurrecting the band name, with a new lineup and a new album planned for 2022.

Current Members

Andre Hartoonian


Ronny Dorian


Artak Tavaratsyan

guitars (ex-Exmortus)

Carlos Cruz

drums (guest for Exmortus, Mantic Ritual, Warbringer)

Former Members/Guests

James Lopez



Heal A Million ... Kill A Million  
2005 self-released
  1. Seditions in Peacetime
  2. The Serpent
  3. Redemption
  4. Mutiny and Betrayal
  5. Bedlam Walls
  6. As the Future Awaits
  7. Desolate Horizons
  8. Heal a Million...Kill a Million
  • Andre Hartoonian
  • Ronny Dorian
  • James Lopez
  • Carlos Cruz

State Of Insurgency  
2008 Old School Metal
  1. Blast Radius
  2. Gas Chamber
  3. Past Life
  4. Knee Deep in the Dead
  5. Chaos Aggressor
  6. Bedlam Walls
  7. The Serpent
  8. No More Color
  9. Mutiny and Betrayal
  10. Seditions In Peacetime
  11. Desolate Horizons
  12. State of Insurgency
  13. Outro
  • Andre Hartoonian
  • Ronny Dorian
  • James Lopez
  • Carlos Cruz

Being And Nothingness  
  1. Macrocosm
  2. Grave New World
  3. Defcon Rising
  4. Private Hell
  5. Walk As Many, Stand As One
  6. Stream Of Unconsciousness
  7. Indefinite Archetype
  8. The Nescient
  9. Nocturne
  • Andre Hartoonian
  • Ronny Dorian
  • Artak Tavaratsyan

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions