Origin: New York, New York, USA  
Genres: Power Metal
Facebook Twitter
Page online: February 16, 2011
Last update/review: January 24, 2015


When you're dealing with bands on Manowar's Magic Circle Records, you have a pretty good idea what to expect -- some sort of bombastic true metal not too far from the masters, and some sort of other connection to Joey's mob wouldn't surprise anyone either. Enter Holyhell, hailing from New York and featuring not only noted guitarist Joe Stump (who's had a successful solo career for ages) but also former Manowar drummer Rhino (though he's recently left). True metal, yes, but not a Manowar clone, for a couple of reasons. First of all, keyboardist Francisco Palomo is a major player here, his keyboards giving a much more symphonic flair, and Stump's guitar histrionics also lend a more unique, neoclassical influence. Then there's vocalist Maria Breon, possessing a fine and clear voice, but again not very Manowar-like. Adopting a European-styled, symphonic power metal style, Holyhell prove to be a worthy addition to the Magic Circle stable.

Current Members

Maria Breon


Joe Stump

guitars (Alcatrazz, ex-Obsession)

Jay Rigney

bass (ex-Event)

Francisco Palomo


John Macaluso

drums (ex-Ark, ex-Labyrinth, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, ex-Riot V, ex-TNT)

Former Members/Guests

Tom Hess

guitars (ex-Rhapsody Of Fire)

Rhino (Kenny Earl Edwards)

drums (Burning Starr, ex-Death Dealer, ex-Forgotten Realm, ex-Manowar)


Apocalypse  EP
2007 Magic Circle
  1. Apocalypse
  2. Resurrection (Godgory cover)
  3. Phantom of the Opera (Live)
  4. Last Vision [view lyrics
  • Maria Breon
  • Joe Stump
  • Tom Hess
  • Jay Rigney
  • Francisco Palomo
  • Rhino
  • John Macaluso

2009 Magic Circle
  1. Wings Of Light
  2. Prophecy
  3. Revelations
  4. Eclipse
  5. The Fall
  6. Angel Of Darkness
  7. Holy Water
  8. Mephisto
  9. Gates Of Hell
  10. Resurrection (Godgory cover)
  11. Last Vision
  12. Apocalypse
  13. Armageddon
  • Maria Breon
  • Joe Stump
  • Jay Rigney
  • Francisco Palomo
  • Rhino
  • John Macaluso

Darkness Visible - The Warning  EP
2012 Magic Circle
  1. Lucifer's Warning
  2. Accept the Darkness
  3. Haunted
  4. Armageddon (Live)

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions