Origin: Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Last update/review: September 1, 2011


Lunaris was formed in 1998 by guitarists M and Balfori (the latter of whom later switched to vocals), recruiting several members of the noted tech metal band Spiral Architect into the fold in time for their debut album, ... The Infinite. Musically, Lunaris is a bit hard to pin down. Black metal is the dominant style here, with much of the vocals and guitarwork in that style, but there are noticeable progressive metal influences at work (check out the keyboards in "Growth Denied" for a prime example) as well as traditional metal structures. Bassist Maztema, better known as onetime Arcturus and Spiral Architect contributes some excellent clean vocals that provide a nice contrast to Balfori's traditional blackened rasps. The musicianship and production are top-notch, and the songwriting provides enough twists and turns to keep the proceedings interesting without losing focus. ... The Infinite is an impressive post-black metal album that is recommended not only to traditional black metal fans but also those into adventurous, progressive extreme metal.

The band released a followup album, Cyclic, in the spring of 2004, then reduced to a trio with all but founders M and Balfori leaving. A modified lineup has since released an EP in 2011.

Current Members

Balfori (Lars Larsen)


M (Mikael Omlid)


Andreas Jonson


Raymond Njerve


Former Members/Guests

Azarek (Steinar Gundersen)

guitars (ICS Vortex, Khold, Sarke, ex-Spiral Architect)

Maztema (Øyvind Hægeland)

bass/vocals (ex-Manitou, ex-Scariot, ex-Spiral Architect)

Asgeir Mickelson (guest)

drums (ex-Borknagar, ICS Vortex, ex-Ihsahn, ex-Sarke, ex-Scariot, ex-Spiral Architect, guest for Vintersorg)

Janos Di Croce



The Infinite  
2002 Elitist
  1. In the Eyes of the Heretic
  2. Arise
  3. ...of the One
  4. Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum
  5. Mother of Storms
  6. Growth Denied
  7. Primal Construction
  8. In Contempt of Humanity
  9. A Final Journey
  10. Soulcrush
  • Balfori
  • M
  • Azarek
  • Maztema
  • Raymond Njerve
  • Asgeir Mickelson

2004 Elitist
  1. Mendacities Of A Corporate Messiah
  2. I.A.D.
  3. Lessons In Futility
  4. Cyclic
  5. Slaves Of Opinion
  6. When It Ends
  7. Casualties Of Peace
  8. Existence Unveiled
  9. Altruismens Gravøl
  10. In Nothing
  11. Mot Natt
  • Balfori
  • M
  • Maztema
  • Raymond Njerve
  • Janos Di Croce

Incivility  EP
2011 self-released
  1. Incivility
  2. Fulcrum
  3. Waters Deep
  • Balfori
  • M
  • Andreas Jonson
  • Raymond Njerve

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions