Origin: Oslo, Norway  
Genres: Progressive Metal, Black Metal
Facebook Twitter
Page online: November 1, 2014
Last update/review: November 1, 2014

ICS Vortex

Fans of Norwegian metal are no doubt familiar with the man known as ICS Vortex, as he is a former or current member of three standout bands in Arcturus, Borknagar, and Dimmu Borgir. Here, he strikes out on his own with Storm Seeker, roping in some big underground names to help out. The first impression is that this album is less overtly metal than any of his previous bands (certainly this is not Dimmu-style symphonic black metal), not so much a radical departure from his past but rather branching out and exploring ideas that have been hinted at in his past. This is progressive post-black metal/rock, with Simen's clean clear vocals at the forefront and a almost relaxed riffing style, closest perhaps to Borknagar or even mid-period Opeth at times.

Current Members

I.C.S. Vortex (Simen Hestæs)

vocals (ex-Arcturus, Borknagar, ex-Dimmu Borgir)

Cyrus (Terje Andersen)

guitars (ex-Sarke, Susperia)

Jens F. Ryland

guitars (ex-Borknagar)

Azarek (Steinar Gundersen)

bass (Khold, ex-Lunaris, Sarke, ex-Spiral Architect)

Asgeir Mickelson

drums (ex-Borknagar, ex-Ihsahn, guest for Lunaris, ex-Sarke, ex-Scariot, ex-Spiral Architect, guest for Vintersorg)


Storm Seeker  
2011 Century Media
  1. The Blackmobile
  2. Odin's Tree
  3. Skoal!
  4. Dogsmacked
  5. Aces
  6. Windward
  7. When Shuffled Off
  8. Oil In Water
  9. Storm Seeker
  10. Flaskeskipper
  11. The Sub Mariner
  • I.C.S. Vortex
  • Cyrus
  • Asgeir Mickelson

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions