Origin: Germany  
Genres: Power Metal
Facebook Twitter YouTube
Last update/review: June 3, 2012

Mercury Tide

Mercury Tide is the new band/project founded by Angel Dust vocalist Dirk Thurisch, the project coming together as a result of the uncertainty of Angel Dust's present and future. Thurisch recruited his own cousin, Dennis Riehle, as well as two other respected metal musicians, and the first album from this new project is simply titled Why?. Though there are traces of the Angel Dust style to be found, in general Why? isn't a true power metal album. Instead, it's a more melodic, AOR-inspired album, but also more somber in some respects, reflecting a more introspective side to Thurisch. It's a relatively varied release, as several styles are on display here, and though the songs are well-constructed, there isn't really a lot here that hasn't been heard before. Why? is a decent melodic metal album, though not quite the power metal fix that Angel Dust fans might have been hoping for.

Current Members

Dirk Thurisch

vocals/guitars (ex-Angel Dust)

Christian Pohlmann


Sim Reaper


Carsten Rehmann


Former Members/Guests

Anders Iwers

bass (ex-Cemetary, ex-Ceremonial Oath, ex-Dark Tranquillity, Tiamat)

Dennis Riehle


Stefan Gamballa

drums (ex-Flowing Tears, ex-Powerwolf, ex-Red Aim)


2003 Century Media
  1. Why?
  2. This Never Ending Dreaming
  3. Lost And Torn
  4. Souls Of The Ocean
  5. Back To Reality
  6. Save This World
  7. Set Me Free
  8. Confusion
  9. Another One
  10. My Dear Enemies
  11. Alone
  • Dirk Thurisch
  • Anders Iwers
  • Dennis Riehle
  • Stefan Gamballa

Killing Saw  
  1. In the Shame of Trust (Intro)
  2. Killing Saw
  3. Home
  4. Searching
  5. World of Pain
  6. Lord of Memories
  7. Out of the Darkness
  8. Alone in My Room
  9. Satan Sister
  10. You Cannot Save Me
  11. No More Pain
  12. Have No Fear
  • Dirk Thurisch
  • Christian Pohlmann
  • Sim Reaper
  • Carsten Rehmann

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions