Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Melodic Death Metal
Facebook Official Site
Page online: October 19, 2004
Last update/review: March 12, 2007

Ceremonial Oath

Ceremonial Oath is one of those bands with a short career, but an important one due to their influence on later bands, as well as the fact that many members became well known in their future bands. Formed in 1989 as Desecrator by guitarist Oscar Dronjak, the band recorded two demos before changing name to Ceremonial Oath in time for their first album, Book Of Truth. Soon after that album's release, however, Dronjak and bassist Jesper Stromblad left to pursue other interests (which turned to be HammerFall and In Flames). The remaining duo of guitarist Anders Iwers and drummer Markus Nordberg recruited new members and eventually a second album, Carpet, was released in 1995, by which time the band had already officially broken up for good. Carpet was actually a compilation of two separate recording sessions with two different vocalists, both of which also went on to fame and fortune elsewhere. Musically, Carpet sounds closer to the Gothenburg sound that its members are well known for, while Book Of Truth is darker, less melodic, and more traditional death metal based. Despite their short run, Ceremonial Oath remains an important and influential band in the history of Swedish melodic death metal.

Last Lineup

Anders Fridén

vocals (ex-Dark Tranquillity, In Flames, ex-Passenger)

Anders Iwers

guitars (ex-Cemetary, ex-Dark Tranquillity, ex-Mercury Tide, Tiamat)

Mikael Andersson

bass (ex-Thy Primordial)

Tomas Johansson

bass (ex-Torchbearer)

Markus Nordberg

drums (ex-Cemetary)

Former Members/Guests

Oscar Dronjak

vocals/guitars (ex-Crystal Age, HammerFall)

Jesper Stromblad



The Book Of Truth  
1993 Modern Pr.
  1. Sworn To Avenge
  2. The Invocator
  3. For I have Sinned - The Praise
  4. Enthroned
  5. Only Evil Prevails
  6. Thunderworld
  7. Lords Of Twilight
  8. Ceremonial Oath
  9. The Lost name Of God
  10. The Book Of Truth
  11. Hellbound
  • Oscar Dronjak
  • Anders Iwers
  • Jesper Stromblad
  • Markus Nordberg

1995 Black Sun
  1. The Day I Buried
  2. Dreamsong
  3. Carpet
  4. The Shadowed End
  5. One of Us/Nightshade
  6. Immortalized
  7. Hallowed Be Thy Name
  • Anders Fridén
  • Anders Iwers
  • Mikael Andersson
  • Tomas Johansson
  • Markus Nordberg

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions