Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Death Metal, Black Metal
Last update/review: April 29, 2011


Yersinia Pestis, the 2004 debut from this Swedish outfit, is a fine example of the blending of death and black metal that a fair number of Scandinavian acts have undertaken in recent years. Both styles of vocals are on display here, and the guitarwork also varies between standard death metal and newer black metal. Like many bands, Torchbearer is one of those middle-ground bands that don't clone anyone else but yet has a familiar style. This is a fine debut for those into extreme Scandinavian metal.

Last Lineup

Pär Johansson

vocals (ex-Zornheym)

Christian Älvestam

guitars/backing vocals (ex-Scar Symmetry, Solution .45)

Patrik Gardberg

guitars (ex-Divinefire, Solution .45)

Tomas Johansson

bass (ex-Ceremonial Oath)

Rolf Pilve

drums (Solution .45, Stratovarius)

Former Members/Guests

Göran Johansson

guitars (ex-Setherial)

Mikael Degerman


Henrik Schönström

drums (ex-Spawn Of Possession)


Yersinia Pestis  
2004 Metal Blade
  1. Assail The Creation
  2. Sown Are The Seeds Of Death
  3. Dead Children, Black Rats
  4. Faith Bled Dry
  5. Bearer Of The Torch
  6. Pest Cometh
  7. Far Advanced Closure
  8. Thus Came Dying Unto Kaffa
  9. Shorespread God
  10. Failures Dawn
  • Pär Johansson
  • Christian Älvestam
  • Göran Johansson
  • Mikael Degerman
  • Henrik Schönström

2006 Regain
  1. Dark Clouds Gathering
  2. Last Line of Defence
  3. Burial Waters, Deepsome Graves
  4. Swift Turns of War
  5. The Stale Drownings
  6. Battlespawn
  7. Where Night is Total
  8. Sealer of Fates
  9. The Blunt Weapon
  • Pär Johansson
  • Christian Älvestam
  • Patrik Gardberg
  • Mikael Degerman
  • Henrik Schönström

Death Meditations  
2011 Vic
  • Pär Johansson
  • Christian Älvestam
  • Patrik Gardberg
  • Tomas Johansson
  • Rolf Pilve

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions