Origin: New Jersey, USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: February 3, 2003

Ripping Corpse

Ripping Corpse was a short-lived metal band from New Jersey, notable for (among other things) being one of the earlier bands of Erik Rutan, who would later find fame as guitarist for the well-known Floridian death metal band Morbid Angel. The band managed a couple of demos before recording their one and only record, 1991's Dreaming With The Dead. Musically, Ripping Corpse straddled the fine line between death and thrash, with the guitarwork more death-ish (almost grindcore at times), while vocalist Scott Ruth sounded more like the traditional thrash singers of the late eighties. Dreaming is a pretty intense album, and has stood the test of time well, as it still sounds pretty fresh more than a decade after its release. The band broke up in 1993, but several years later three of the five members would come together in a new band, Dim Mak, and their first album was produced by none other than Erik Rutan, though he wasn't one of the three who formed DM.

Last Lineup

Scott Ruth

vocals (ex-Dim Mak)

Shaune Kelley

guitars (Dim Mak, ex-Hate Eternal)

Erik Rutan

guitars (ex-Alas, Cannibal Corpse, Hate Eternal, ex-Morbid Angel)

Dave Bizzigotti

bass (Speed Kill Hate)

Brandon Thomas

drums (ex-Dim Mak)


Dreaming With The Dead  
1991 Maze
  1. Sweetness
  2. Dreaming with the Dead
  3. Anti God
  4. Glorious Depravity
  5. Beyond Humanity
  6. Feeling Pleasure Through Pain
  7. Through the Skin to the Soul
  8. Rift of Hate
  9. Deeper Demons
  10. Sickness of Will
  11. Chugging Pus
  12. Seduction of the Innocent
  • Scott Ruth
  • Shaune Kelley
  • Erik Rutan
  • Dave Bizzigotti
  • Brandon Thomas

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions