Origin: Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site
Page online: May 14, 2004
Last update/review: April 25, 2015

Source Of Tide

Source Of Tide features one Lord PZ, who was one of the three main vocalist/members of Peccatum and in fact is the sister of Peccatum's Ihriel, and thus the brother-in-law of Ihsahn, formerly of the legendary Emperor. Following a self-released album in 1997 (an album pre-dating Lord PZ's involvement), the band recorded a demo that made its way to Candlelight Records, who signed the band and released the album reviewed here, 2000's Ruins Of Beauty. Musically, the band plays an adventurous mixture of symphonic black and gothic metal, with sweeping arrangements and a wide variety of influences. Even with a more traditional vocalist this band could claim a high degree of originality, but the vocals set them apart further. Lord PZ employs a similar vocal style as he did in Peccatum, that being mostly a pseudo-operatic style that at times can be compared to Garm's work in Arcturus. Sometimes it works quite well, other times his voices seems to waver a bit. In either case, the vocals might be considered an acquired taste, as reviews on the band have ranged widely, in large part due to a particular reviewer's opinion on Lord PZ. Ruins Of Beauty isn't for everyone, but those seeking an interesting take on gothic metal could do well to check out this band. As their last album was in 2002, they are likely done at this point.

Last Lineup

Lord PZ (Pål Solberg)

vocals (ex-Peccatum)

Pendragon (Jostein Thomassen)

guitars/keyboards (Borknagar)


rhythm guitar (ex-Opera IX)



Orbweaver (Per Morten Bergseth)


Former Members/Guests

Sven Tore Dammen


Atle Høidalen


Geir Hovland


Cosmocrator (André Søgnen)

drums (Scum, The Wretched End)


Dawn Of Tides  
1997 self-released
  1. Shadowland
  2. Dawn of Tides
  3. Nocturnal Lust
  4. In Sorrow
  5. Words of Desire
  6. Intermezzo
  7. The Ancient River
  8. Where the Coldness Divide
  9. Broken Trust
  10. Withered Emotions
  • Sven Tore Dammen
  • Pendragon
  • Atle Høidalen
  • Geir Hovland
  • Cosmocrator

Ruins Of Beauty  
2000 Candlelight
  1. Raven Goddess
  2. Symphony Of The Sovereign
  3. The Awakening (Ode To The Art Of Self Destruction: Part I)
  4. Chains Of Mythic Fantasy
  5. Autumn Leaf
  6. Final Battle (Ode To The Art Of Self Destruction: Part II)
  7. Ye Memories Of Sad Rebirth
  8. Who Am I?
  • Lord PZ
  • Pendragon
  • Taranis
  • Targenor
  • Cosmocrator

2002 Candlelight
  1. Static Development
  2. Humanism
  3. Tales Of Fruition
  4. Serenade Of Silence
  5. Enslaved By Principles
  6. Bravery 1999
  7. Declaration!
  8. Bravery 2000
  9. Ruins Of Beauty (A Poem To The Art Of Self-Destruction, Epilogue)
  10. To The Retalation Of A Misanthope
  11. Revolt Future!
  12. ... Blueprint
  13. ... Rembrance
  • Lord PZ
  • Pendragon
  • Taranis
  • Targenor
  • Cosmocrator

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions