Origin: Larissa, Greece  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: September 2, 2017
Last update/review: September 2, 2017


Sunburst was formed in 2010 by guitarist Gus Drax (also currently in Paradox, as is drummer Kostas Milonas), and 2016 sees the band finally breaking through with their first album, Fragments Of Creation. Solidly in the prog/power metal realm, Fragments hits the right notes in that familiar-yet-not-dated sort of way, the band showing maturity beyond that usually heard on a debut album. Drax and vocalist Vasilis Georgiou are the stars here, with Drax providing plenty of often down-tuned crunchy riffs and a good deal of well-above-average solos. Georgiou has a clear, solid metal voice, though he thankfully rarely goes into the higher registers. The production here is typical for a modern power metal band -- clinical, perhaps a shade dry. As is stated many times here and elsewhere, the power metal field has been crowded for decades now, but there seemingly is always room for another quality band in the genre, and Sunburst has a good chance to progress to bigger things.

Current Members

Vasilis Georgiou


Gus Drax

guitars (Biomechanical, ex-Paradox, Suicidal Angels)

Nick Grey


Kostas Milonas

drums (ex-Paradox)


Fragments Of Creation  
  1. Out of the World
  2. Dementia
  3. Symbol of Life
  4. Reincarnation
  5. Lullaby
  6. End of the Game
  7. Beyond the Darkest Sun
  8. Forevermore
  9. Break the Core
  10. Remedy of My Heart
  • Vasilis Georgiou
  • Gus Drax
  • Nick Grey
  • Kostas Milonas

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions