Origin: Uppsala, Sweden  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter YouTube
Last update/review: May 1, 2022


As anyone who follows the scene knows, there is no shortage of quality black metal bands from Scandinavia. Watain do little to expand the boundaries of modern Swedish black metal, but on Sworn To The Dark they execute well, with an above-average production (particular for black metal) to boot. Several make the comparison to Dissection, and it's a valid comparison (vocalist Erik Danielsson apparently played live with them for a time), though this is more black metal than the early melodic death that Dissection helped pioneer back in the day. True, Watain aren't changing the face of black metal here, but they are a worthy band for black metallists to check out.

Current Members

Erik Danielsson


Pelle Forsberg


Tore Stjerna


Former Members/Guests

Farida Lemouchi (guest)

vocals (ex-The Devil's Blood)

Hampus Eriksson (guest)


Gottfrid Åhman (guest)

guitars (Inborn Suffering, ex-In Solitude, Reveal!)

Alvaro Lillo (guest)


Håkan Jonsson


Emil Svensson (guest)



The Essence Of Black Purity  EP
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Rabid Death's Curse  
2000 Dragonheart
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

The Ritual Macabre  LIVE
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Tore Stjerna
  • Håkan Jonsson

Casus Luciferi  
2003 Dragonheart
  1. Devil's Blood
  2. Black Salvation
  3. Opus Dei (The Morbid Angel)
  4. Puzzles ov Flesh
  5. I Am the Earth
  6. The Golden Horns of Darash
  7. From the Pulpits of Abomination
  8. Casus Luciferi
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Sworn To The Dark  
2007 Season Of Mist
  1. Legions of the Black Light
  2. Satan's Hunger
  3. Withershins
  4. Storm of the Antichrist
  5. The Light that Burns the Sun
  6. Sworn to the Dark
  7. Underneath the Cenotaph
  8. The Serpent's Chalice
  9. Darkness and Death
  10. Dead but Dreaming
  11. Stellarvore
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Lawless Darkness  
2010 Season Of Mist
  1. Death's Cold Dark
  2. Malfeitor
  3. Reaping Death
  4. Four Thrones
  5. Wolves Curse
  6. Lawless Darkness
  7. Total Funeral
  8. Hymn to Qayin
  9. Kiss of Death
  10. Waters of Ain
2010 Readers' Album #57

Opus Diaboli  VIDEO

The Wild Hunt  
2013 Century Media
  1. Night Vision
  2. De Profundis
  3. Black Flames March
  4. All that May Bleed
  5. The Child Must Die
  6. They Rode On
  7. Sleepless Evil
  8. Wild Hunt
  9. Outlaw
  10. Ignem Veni Mittere
  11. Holocaust Dawn
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Tonight We Raise Our Cups And Toast ...  LIVE
  1. A Fine Day to Die
  2. The Return of Darkness and Evil
  3. Rite of Darkness
  4. Reaper
  5. Enter the Eternal Fire
  6. Sacrifice
  7. Born for Burning
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Stellar Descension Infernal In Budapest  LIVE
  1. Intro
  2. Devil's Blood
  3. The Limb Crucifix
  4. Rabid Death's Curse
  5. My Fists Are Him
  6. Casus Luciferi
  7. I Am the Earth
  8. Fireborn (Malign cover)
  9. On Horns Impaled
  10. Black Salvation
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

Trident Wolf Eclipse  
  1. Nuclear Alchemy
  2. Sacred Damnation
  3. Teufelsreich
  4. Furor Diabolicus
  5. A Throne Below
  6. Ultra (Pandemoniac)
  7. Towards The Sanctuary
  8. The Fire Of Power
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Håkan Jonsson

The Agony And Ecstasy Of Watain  
2022 Nuclear Blast
  1. Ecstasies in Night Infinite
  2. The Howling
  3. Serimosa
  4. Black Cunt
  5. Leper's Grace
  6. Not Sun Nor Man Nor God
  7. Before the Cataclysm
  8. We Remain
  9. Funeral Winter
  10. Septentrion
  • Erik Danielsson
  • Farida Lemouchi
  • Pelle Forsberg
  • Hampus Eriksson
  • Gottfrid Åhman
  • Alvaro Lillo
  • Emil Svensson

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions