Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Doom Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: May 3, 2020


This new Swedish band gives new meaning to the term "retro". There is certainly no shortage of contemporary bands who choose to play styles of days past, and in particular there are plenty of fine early-Black Sabbath-influenced bands, and Witchcraft unquestionably belongs in that field. But these guys have gone one step beyond. Witchcraft, the band's self-titled debut album, doesn't just sound like an early-70's-influenced album -- it actually sounds like it really was recorded in 1970. The style, of course, is one reason for this, but the thin, hollow (yet still quite listenable) analog recording is another explanation. Just the sound on Witchcraft, so undeniably 1970s, is paradoxically a breath of fresh air in these times of overly slick, mechanically precise production/recording efforts. Sabbath, again, is an obvious influence, as is early Pentagram, and perhaps other very early hard rock/metal bands like perhaps Captain Beyond. And all of this would be academic if the resulting songs weren't good, but in fact they are very good indeed. Witchcraft is a supremely enjoyable listen for anyone interested in what the roots of metal sounded like.

Current Members

Magnus Pelander


Tobias Anger

bass (ex-2 Ton Predator)

Rage Widerberg


Former Members/Guests

John Hoyles


Simon Solomon


Tom Jondelius


Ola Henriksson

bass (Bombus)

Jonas Arnesén


Fredrik Jansson

drums (ex-Abramis Brama, ex-Count Raven)

Oscar Johansson

drums (ex-Truckfighters)


2004 Rise Above
  1. Witchcraft
  2. The Snake
  3. Please Don't Forget Me
  4. Lady Winter
  5. What I Am
  6. Schyssta Lögner
  7. No Angel Or Demon
  8. I Want You To Know
  9. It's So Easy
  10. You Bury Your Head
  11. Her Sisters They Were Weak
  • Magnus Pelander
  • John Hoyles
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Jonas Arnesén

2005 Rise Above
  1. Chylde Of Fire
  2. If Wishes Were Horses
  3. Mr Haze
  4. Wooden Cross (I Can´t Wake The Dead)
  5. Queen Of Bees
  6. Merlin´s Daughter
  7. I See A Man
  8. Sorrow Evoker
  9. You Suffer
  10. Attention!
  • Magnus Pelander
  • John Hoyles
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Jonas Arnesén

The Alchemist  
2007 Rise Above
  1. Walk Between the Lines
  2. If Crimson Was Your Colour
  3. Leva
  4. Hey Doctor
  5. Samaritan Burden
  6. Remembered
  7. The Alchemist (Parts I-III)
  • Magnus Pelander
  • John Hoyles
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Fredrik Jansson

2012 Nuclear Blast
  1. Deconstruction
  2. Flag of Fate
  3. It's Not Because of You
  4. An Alternative to Freedom
  5. Ghosts House
  6. White Light Suicide
  7. Democracy
  8. Dystopia
  9. Dead End
  • Magnus Pelander
  • Simon Solomon
  • Tom Jondelius
  • Ola Henriksson
  • Oscar Johansson
2012 Readers' Album #26

2016 Nuclear Blast
  1. Malstroem
  2. Theory Of Consequence
  3. The Outcast
  4. Nucleus
  5. An Exorcism Of Doubts
  6. The Obsessed
  7. To Transcend Bitterness
  8. Helpless
  9. Breakdown
  10. Chasing Rainbows
  • Magnus Pelander
  • Simon Solomon
  • Tom Jondelius
  • Tobias Anger
  • Rage Widerberg

Black Metal  
2020 Nuclear Blast
  1. Elegantly Expressed Depression
  2. A Boy and a Girl
  3. Sad People
  4. Grow
  5. Free Country
  6. Sad Dog
  7. Take Him Away
  • Magnus Pelander

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions