Origin: London, England  
Genres: Doom Metal
Page online: June 16, 2008
Last update/review: September 22, 2012


Usually, a UK doom act on Rise Above would make for a pretty easy description -- Rise Above is well known for fine ultra-doom bands, and even after hearing the doomy guitar sound, one might suspect that Winters is just another doom act. In fact, though, Winters is slightly off a bit from the doom path -- doomy and heavy they are, but not quite in the normal sense. The vocals are a bit different, a kind of whiney (in a good way), alt-metal style (a cool, cult US metal band from the 80's, Mistreater, had a singer that sounds exactly like this guy). At times this band sounds a lot like "Bleach"-era Nirvana slowed way down, while at other times a more traditional 70's doom style is found, and other times (like the title track of Black Clouds In Twin Galaxies) there's almost a 60's pop-ish edge. A somewhat quirky band that might not appeal to everyone, but a band worth keeping an eye on, and definitely a band deserving praise for a rather distinctive sound.

Current Members

Paul Fyfe


Nigel Ingram


Chris Fullard

keyboards (ex-Angel Witch)

Andy Prestidge

drums (ex-Angel Witch, ex-Lucifer, ex-The Oath)


High As Satellites  EP
2006 Rise Above
  1. Scars
  2. Satellites
  3. Feel Nothing
  4. I Walk A Road Of Useless Tasks
  • Paul Fyfe
  • Nigel Ingram
  • Andy Prestidge

Black Clouds In Twin Galaxies  
2007 Rise Above
  1. Fried
  2. Aftershown
  3. Oh No
  4. Endless Fight
  5. Life Was So Simple
  6. Mark My Word
  7. Two Wrongs Make a Right
  8. Destroyer
  9. No Will
  10. Did Me In
  11. Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies
  • Paul Fyfe
  • Nigel Ingram
  • Andy Prestidge

Berlin Occult Bureau  
  1. Goodbye
  2. Plans Within Plans
  3. Ausländer
  4. Schwarze Kraft
  5. Berlin Occult Bureau
  6. On Your Street Again
  7. No Tomorrow
  8. Ace Frehley
  9. Run Run Run Run
  10. Geistkämpfer
  • Paul Fyfe
  • Nigel Ingram
  • Andy Prestidge

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions