Origin: Norway  
Genres: Doom Metal
Official Site Facebook
Page online: March 8, 2007
Last update/review: November 1, 2022


Sahg is one of those side project bands that seem to be sprouting up quite frequently these days, featuring in this case guys with pedigrees in bands such as Gorgoroth, MÃ¥negarm, and Audrey Horne. Noting that those three bands sound nothing like each other, it so happens that Sahg doesn't sound like any of the three either. Their 2006 debut, simply entitled I, is a groovy, almost uptempo doom album, verging on stoner rock at times though mostly a shade darker than that tag would imply. Vocalist Olav Iversen often comes off as a young Ozzy, at times infusing a bit of Dave Wyndorf (Monster Magnet) influence as well. As with other projects of this nature, one has to wonder whether the members have time to devote to something other than their main job (Tom Cato Visnes, in particular, must never sleep at night, as he recorded no less than four albums in 2006), but to these ears Sahg deserves major attention -- I is an excellent modern rock/doom metal album.

Current Members

Olav Iversen


Ole Walaunet

guitars (Grimfist)

Tony Vetaas


Mads Lilletvedt

drums (ex-Byfrost)

Former Members/Guests

Thomas Tofthagen

guitars (Audrey Horne)

Tom Cato Visnes

bass (ex-Abbath, ex-Audrey Horne, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-I, ex-Jotunspor, ex-Ov Hell)

Kvitrafn (Einar Selvik)

drums (ex-Dead To This World, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Jotunspor)

Tor Bjarne Bjelland


Thomas Lönnheim



2006 Regain
  1. Intro: Parade Macabre
  2. Repent
  3. The Executioner Undead
  4. The Alchemist
  5. Rivers Running Dry
  6. Whisper Of Abaddon
  7. Godless Faith
  8. Soul Exile
  9. Boundless Demise
  10. Black Passage
  • Olav Iversen
  • Thomas Tofthagen
  • Tom Cato Visnes
  • Kvitrafn

2008 Regain
  1. Ascent To Decadence
  2. Echoes Ring Forever
  3. From Conscious Sleep
  4. Star-Crossed
  5. Escape The Crimson Sun
  6. Pyromancer
  7. Wicked Temptress
  8. By The Toll Of The Bell
  9. Monomania
  • Olav Iversen
  • Thomas Tofthagen
  • Tom Cato Visnes
  • Tor Bjarne Bjelland

2010 Indie
  1. In Through The Eye
  2. Baptism Of Fire
  3. Mortify
  4. Hollow Mountain
  5. Mother's Revenge
  6. Downward Spiral
  7. Shadow Monument
  8. Burden
  9. Denier
  10. Spiritual Void
  • Olav Iversen
  • Thomas Tofthagen
  • Tom Cato Visnes
  • Thomas Lönnheim

Delusions Of Grandeur  
2013 Indie
  1. Slip Off The Edge Of The Universe
  2. Blizzardborne
  3. Firechild
  4. Walls Of Delusion
  5. Ether
  6. Then Wakens The Beast
  7. Odium Delirium
  8. Sleeper's Gate To The Galaxy
  • Olav Iversen
  • Thomas Tofthagen
  • Tony Vetaas
  • Thomas Lönnheim

Memento Mori  
2016 Indie
  1. Black Unicorn
  2. Devilspeed
  3. Take It to the Grave
  4. Silence the Machines
  5. Sanctimony
  6. (Praise the) Electric Sun
  7. Travellers of Space and Light
  8. Blood of Oceans
  • Olav Iversen
  • Ole Walaunet
  • Tony Vetaas
  • Mads Lilletvedt

Born Demon  
2022 Drakkar
  1. Fall into the Fire
  2. House of Worship
  3. Born Demon
  4. Descendants of the Devil
  5. Black Cross on the Moon
  6. Evil Immortal
  7. Salvation Damnation
  8. Killer Spirit (from Outta Hell)
  9. Heksedans
  10. Destroyer of the Earth
  • Olav Iversen
  • Tony Vetaas
  • Mads Lilletvedt

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions